Daily Archives: November 11, 2009

drained

I’m so exhausted today for so many reasons. I’m trying to navigate my way through family drama and shifting priorities. I am learning the hard way that while I may have many roles–wife, mother, daughter, sister, teacher, and more–that certain roles have to take priority, namely those of wife and mother. I need to convince my extended family, especially my mother, of the same. I can’t be daughter first and then wife and mother.

It’s a strange shift, a strange bit of grappling I’m doing. I need to write about it, but I don’t know if I’m ready to go into it much yet. All I know is that there is a huge shift that has to take place if our new little family is to thrive. I never realized just how many things would change as a result of having a child. I never knew it would be so hard to maintain so many relationships or to endure their changes. What I do know is that my relationship with my wife and my dedication to my son have to take priority over everything else now, even if this means disappointing others in my life.

3 Comments

Filed under family