40 weeks 2 days

Last Friday marked 40 weeks of this pregnancy, a day I was surprised to see, even this far in. I’ve been uncomfortable, feeling huge and tired, but so very grateful to be pregnant with a healthy baby. I chronicled Week 40 with some belly shots.

The Wednesday night prior I was awake much of the night with contractions, which ended up going away in the morning, so the end of last week was fairly frustrating. I tried everything to get labor going on my own, but ultimately, I was feeling pretty stuck. I had finally gotten myself emotionally ready for the pregnancy to be over, for this baby to arrive, and now this.

J and I spent the next few days walking and belly dancing and cooking and waiting, waiting, waiting feeling less and less patient.

And then Sunday arrived.

And then, Sunday evening, at 40 weeks and 2 days after a very intense 4-hour labor, Girl Genius made her debut. We are so very in love with this little girl who resembles her brother in so many ways and in every way is her own little person. I’ll write the full birth story very soon, as it was epic (and did I mention short?), but for now, I wanted to share with you our daughter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “40 weeks 2 days

  1. I am crying tears of joy for you, right here at my desk at work. Congratulations! She is beautiful!

  2. Congratulations! Your next chapter is underway and it looks beautiful. Sleep and happiness be with you.

  3. I am so happy for you both!! You deserve this happiness. She is beautiful! ❤ ❤

  4. She is so beautiful. Congratulations!

  5. raine05

    Congratulations, she is beautiful!

  6. Hooray, she is awesome! I love that pic with the sailboat onesie. She looks super wise already. And 4 hours?! Color me jealous! Epic seems pretty appropriate. I’m sure her long and wonderful life will be epic as well. Hugs to all of you.

    • T

      I had a 36 hour labor with BG, so this was quite surprising, although I can tell you now shorter is not definitely better! Thanks so much for your sweet words!

  7. Kirsten

    This is a great news to brighten all days! So very happy for you and J. Blessings to you all.

  8. Sarah

    Welcome to the world beautiful girl genius! What a better place it is because you’re here now! Congratulations! Gorgeous! -Sarah

  9. Gia

    May the Lord bless you and keep you; may the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you, sweet baby girl!
    Congratulations, mommies!

  10. Congrats ladies… she is absolutely beautiful!!! May you all be blessed with only health and happiness.

  11. rachml

    Oh! Congratulations to you both on your darling little girl!!!!

  12. Shaw

    Huge congrats!

  13. Elizabeth

    Oh my god, I am so so happy for you and J. She is just perfect. Perfect. 🙂

  14. keeshay

    Congratulations!!! So over the moon for you 🙂 xoxo

  15. Wow, even though I hoped this post was coming I instantly dissolved in to happy tears,

    My thoughts are with you during this happy and emotionally charged time.

    Congratulations Mummies.

  16. disney014

    she is beautiful! congratulations and happy birthday baby girl genius!

  17. It’s not very often a birth announcement makes me cry, but yours has. Congratulations to the both of you!!!!

  18. Jenn

    Happy, happy tears. T and J, welcome back to the beautiful messiness of motherhood. This sweet girl is so lucky to have you to guide her.

  19. shannon

    My heart is bursting with joy for you. Congratulations!

  20. Helen

    She is beautiful!!! (and I do see a bit of her handsome brother in her, esp. in the pic with her finger on her chin). Congratulations to you and Jodi! Cannot wait to watch her grow. Welcome to the world beautiful girl (you may already know this, but you have 2 of the best mommies in the world). Enjoy! So, so happy for you all!

  21. G

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you!

  22. So so so happy for you all! Huge humongous smiles!

  23. Pugmamma

    Wonderful news! Congratulations again and again!!!!

  24. Welcome, TD!! So happy for all of you. She’s gorgeous.

  25. Ah, bless! So happy for you, congrats!

  26. Loretta Metra

    Congratulations on your new little baby girl. May she bring you joy and happiness.

  27. all7mite

    Congratulations! So happy for you both!

  28. Heartiest of congratulations to your beautiful family. She’s an absolute peach and we are so excited for the start of this chapter of your parenthood journey. May she be the light in your life, a salve to your grief, and a witness to the legacy of her incredible big brother. We’re thinking of your family often, as always.

  29. Congratulations! I haven’t been paying attention and didn’t realize you were expecting and now you have this little miracle alive and well. So much love and blessings your way.

  30. She is so beautiful ❤ Congrats again. I am really really happy for you…möge sie euch all das geben wonach ihr euch sehnt…

  31. Oh! The Joy! She is just lovely. Congratulations and infinite blessings to you as those challenging early months engulf you once again.

Leave a Reply

