school!

I can’t believe it, but I think we finally have a school for our boy. It’s a somewhat affordable Montessori near where my wife teaches. We took BG there today for a visit, and while he was terribly nervous that we were going to leave him, before we left, he managed to learn how to cut apple pieces, enjoyed some time with a lock box, and even procured a snack. I could see very quickly that this is where he’s going to thrive. We’re going to start him in a month. It’s going to be rough financially having him in school that costs at all,  but we’ll start him at just two days a week–two days when I can get quite a bit of work done while he’s gone–and work up from there.

I can’t believe how excited I am about this. We have natural Montessori leanings anyway. We have always involved BG in our daily activities, letting him help where he wants, encouraging exploratory practical play, so today when the director asked us what BG likes to do and what sorts of activities we encourage, it wasn’t so much of a surprise that she called us “Montessori parents.” It seems she thinks we’ve done great work in readying him for a school such as hers. We couldn’t be more thrilled.

I know it’s going to be strange being without my boy two mornings a week, but to know that he’s going to be somewhere that allows him to thrive the way he knows how to thrive makes me all tingly. That such an environment is also going to teach him to be gentler with his peers, to tolerate other children more, well that’s just a bonus, isn’t it?

I can’t believe we’re already here, at preschool, but we are, and I’m totally awestruck.

4 Comments

Filed under school

4 responses to “school!

  1. Kim

    Both my kids have been in Montessori from day one. I know pay (quite a lot actually) to have him in a private Montessori elementary school (pre-K through 6th grade) and my daughter is in a Montessori pre school as well. All this to say that I agree that this is a wonderful decision for your boy. It has been SUCH a great thing for both of my kids and I’m sure BG is totally going to thrive and love it there!

  2. I think that sounds great, both for you and the boy! Wonderful news.

  3. How exciting to have found the right fit. I think you are going to get used to two mornings a week to yourself very quickly;)

  4. chunkandmommy

    Finding a perfect fit is so very important and I am sure BG will THRIVE in this environment. Excited for him, and you, mama! Believe me, having some “you” time will be good and you will fill the time nicely.

Leave a Reply

