side effects

So my wife and I were talking today wondering how long it would take BG to leave his room on his own after sleeping. He hadn’t tried to get up on his own last night and instead cried for us. This conversation was taking place during his nap.

As if on cue, we heard his door open, heard his little feet padding down the hall, and saw his sleepy smile and rumpled hair peak around the corner into the kitchen. My wife and I both gasped a little, looked at each other with the same slightly terrified look, and saw our kid grow up before our eyes yet again. He, on the other hand, just walked in and opened up the fridge to find himself a snack like he’s been getting himself up from his naps for decades.

Last night I ordered extra locks for both our sliding door and front door because I can’t stop panicking over the thought of my son waking up in the middle of the night and wandering out (he can reach and operate all of the locks on the doors).

On a related note, I noticed about fifty new gray hairs on my head today.

We’re celebrating all of the big excitement with a family cold. We’re so predictable.

2 Comments

Filed under Boy Genius

2 responses to “side effects

  1. We have a gate on Roozle’s doorway so she can’t get out when she gets up and her room is ultra kid proofed. We often wake up to find her playing in her bed, with it all set up with all kinds of toys or books or whatever she felt like working on. Or she stands at the gate and shouts, “COME IN!” HA! A few times we’ve not had the gate locked or on and she just shows up like BG in the kitchen after a nap and it has terrified me too! AHH! Who are you?! Oh right! My kid! Ha!

  2. reproducinggenius

    I’m definitely contemplating the gate. We’ve never done gates before, but it might be time to think about it.

    And “Come in!” Too funny!

Leave a Reply

