Daily Archives: September 1, 2011

Returning

 I get an email from the organizers of NaBloPoMo once a month letting me know the theme for the month. They are often really solid themes, but I’m not much of a themey blogger, so they don’t tend to lure me in. But this month’s theme is “Return,” and it felt like a beckoning to return to my blog, to return to this place where I can find a center, and to return to the community that  held me up while J and I tried to create our family.

So here I am. I have returned.

Today is my birthday. I’m 36 years old, and honestly, until a week ago, when I asked my wife how old I was, I already thought I was 36. It all sort of runs together in the mid thirties, doesn’t it? This year, I find myself feeling a little scattered in different directions, and I’m trying to piece myself back together. I’m trying to rediscover who I am and even who I want to be in this life–and at this time in my life. 

I guess that’s what this month–and hopefully the subsequent return to blogging–will do for me. I thank any of you who are still around for reading along. It’s going to be a good journey.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized