My birthday is this Thursday–the first of September. My gift to myself this month is going to be to blog every day. As inspiration, I have joined NaBloPoMo for September (yes, you can NaBloPoMo any month of the year!). I look forward to the challenge and to finding this personal space. I need this place to reflect right now.

 

BG had a successful time with his new babysitter today. He had moments of crying separated by periods of enjoying himself. We feel very strongly that he will soon find his groove with this pink-haired, sticker-toting college freshman. Perhaps the most humorous moment today happened at the end of the evening when she was preparing to go. Our boy wanted to give her a hug, so she picked him up. He then moved in for a kiss, so she quickly kissed him on the cheek. But BG was not satisfied. He was determined to have a kiss. He kept attempting to kiss her full on the lips, and she kept dodging him. We finally told her, “He wants to kiss you on the lips!” Her response, poor girl, was “Is that okay?” When we confirmed that it was, she kissed him, and our son stopped trying to make out with his babysitter. This girl is already rather shy and is clearly intimidated by us (I want to tell her that we’re really not that scary), and she really didn’t want to do something inappropriate, especially in front of us. I felt bad for her, but she did recover. I so hope she relaxes around us soon as we all rather like her.

5 Comments

Filed under babysitting, Boy Genius, nablopomo

5 responses to “

  1. I look forward to reading your posts! That was cute about the babysitter and I’m sure she’ll get more comfortable after more time. BG’s making his moves early 😉

  2. Ha! Oh, BG, so darn cute! I’m sure the sitter will warm up to you all very soon 🙂

  3. lol! that is hilarious. Poor sitter- I remember being a college sitter for all the graduate students who lived down in student housing. I was always intimidated, too!

    Happy early birthday! =)

  4. My birthday is also tomorrow, September 1st! I have been reading for a while but don’t think I have ever commented. No wonder I have always felt I could relate, fellow Virgo 😉 I also dream of finding a job in academia someday once I have completed a terminal degree. My partner and I are getting married in 10 days and we are just in the planning stages of parenthood. Good luck with the new babysitter and happy birthday!

    • reproducinggenius

      Happy birthday to you as well, and thank you for commenting! Congratulations on your marriage, and I wish you the best as you embark on the planning stages of having children. I look forward to checking out your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

