blogging on

There are times with blogging–or not blogging, rather–when I have let so much build up that I enter a state of writer’s paralysis. Now is one of those times. So much has happened in the past month, so many interesting and great things, and one big, sad thing, so it’s really hard to know what to even write about. But there is one thing I have to write about.

On the fourth of July, my step-dad’s dad, my grandfather, passed away due to complications with a recently-discovered brain tumor. We went out of town at the beginning of this week so that I could go to the funeral. It was so sad because he was so very loved. He was the heart of the family, and we’ll all miss him terribly.

And as sad as that is to write about, as trivial as it feels to put it out there with such concision, this is what I have to do to keep writing. Without paying this tribute, I couldn’t write about the more whimsicle or critical or frustrating or even mundane things I have wanted to write about. But this man would not have wanted anyone to stop writing for him. He wrote every day of his life. What greater inspiration does one need to keep plodding forward.

 

7 Comments

Filed under family

7 responses to “blogging on

  1. I am very sorry for your loss. Hang in there!

  2. So sorry for your loss – he sounds like an amazing man.

  3. cousin

    thank you for putting it out there, as he was loved and the world should know.

  4. My deepest condolences.

  5. poppycat

    It sounds like your family will be missing a very wonderful member. I know he would appreciate your tribute.

Leave a Reply

