night weaning: night 1

Okay, so last night wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. It could have been worse, and it could have been better. I had so much anxiety that I couldn’t get to sleep until about 12:30, at which point my wife came out to tell me BG wouldn’t sleep anywhere but our bed. She opted to leave him there with her for awhile. Sadly, my poor J cannot sleep when she and BG are there alone together, so she was awake a lot of the night. Apparently he went down in his bed again around 4:00 and then woke her (and me) up positively wailing at around 5:15. She brought him out and asked me to come to bed and help out, which I did. This was the first BG had nursed since before he went to bed at around 6:30pm–the longest he has ever gone! Needless to say, he was very serious about his nursing once I got there. I’m okay with that, though, and I’m hoping that we can get to about 6:00 most days before he needs to nurse. That I could handle.

As for how the night itself went, apparently, BG only asked J to nurse once or twice, and one of the times, he was lifting her shirt hoping she would finally relent and let him nurse with her (he’s always been convinced that she should). Alas, she did not, and he fell asleep with some cuddles instead. One can’t blame the boy for being persistent! There were no tears between 12:30 and 5:15, which is far better than I had expected. Unfortunately, we’re all also very tired from the disruption in our usual sleep routines (and for J, just from staying up most of the night), but I’m hopeful that once BG is broken of his nighttime habit, the sleep will come longer and more easily. Tonight we’ll do the same thing (after J has a long afternoon nap). After going through it, I doubt I’ll have the anxiety I did, and I’m looking forward to the sleep.

In other news, if all goes well with his naptime, BG is getting his first haircut today! Photos to come, of course.

3 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius, Hair, sleep

3 responses to “night weaning: night 1

  1. A.

    What a big night! It sounds like a great first step. I hope you both get some more rest tonight….can’t wait to see haircut pics!

  2. Jen

    I can just imagine the desperation in asking J to nurse… Hoping tonight gets easier. Stick to your plan and it will pay off. I think getting him to his bed will be a big step to better sleep for everyone.

  3. c storm

    Just saying we’re going through the same thing. Our little is thirteen months and we co-sleep but she was just pinching me all night long to get herself back to sleep which was making me nuts and tired and, finally, resentful, which is of course no good. We moved our mattress to the floor when she was born so our solution was to go and buy a play pen with mesh sides and set it up right next our bed. Baby can still feel me breathe on her, can hear me talk and roll over and can even out her hand up to the mesh and feel my hand connecting with hers. But she cannot pinch. It’s been a tough few nights with a crying spell or two but nothing like the hysterical, I’ve-been-abandoned crying of CIO. More power to others but I can’t do that. And, last night she slept through and it made such a difference for all of us today. I feel positively giddy and am a much more patient parent. And Baby seems happier, too. So, hang in, good luck, it’s tough…

Leave a Reply

