first haircut

Our boy has always had very fine, very fair hair, but he’s starting to get a fair amount of it in the back and on the top as evidenced below:

So, after finding our son with matted messes on the back of his head every time we have taken him out of his carseat of late, we decided it was time for his first haircut. Our lovely stylist told us when we first started going to her when he was just a couple of months old that she wanted to give him his first cut, so to our lovely stylist we went today.

Her first step was to hand him a comb and to cover me in a drape. She told me, “I’m sorry to say it, but he’s not going to like this.” Sure enough, he immediately asked her to put the comb back, “In! In!” he demanded pointing at her drawer.

She then quickly got started. Our stylist has two boys of her own, and she has given lots of first haircuts. She told us they always cry like she’s cutting out their brains. BG was no exception:

But in the end, he did survive, and he’s got a cute new big boy haircut to show for it. I only cried a little on our way out to the car. I held the envelope with the snips of his hair–the hair he was born with—and welled up at how much he has grown. Oh how I love my handsome boy.

4 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius, Hair

4 responses to “first haircut

  1. What is it with kids and getting their hair cut? You’d think we were cutting off their fingers or something!

    Handsome guy.

    • reproducinggenius

      I don’t know, but my stylist said they all do it. She has always cut her own boys’ hair, and she said that even though it was their own mom cutting their hair as babies, they still freaked out!

  2. K

    He looks like such a big boy!!!! I love all of the pics. The one of him crying on your lap is just precious.

  3. He looks very dashing 🙂 I love the pics and I know I will tear up too once it’s our turn.

Leave a Reply

