one of those days

Some days with a toddler are just hard.

BG was super whiney and clingy today, but he was crabby too. I would give him food only for him to throw it on the floor or smack it out of my hand. Picking him up helped, but if I had to put him down for any reason, he flipped out. Diaper changes were crazed, arched-back fits. And then after nearly every diaper change, he would remove his diaper inside of his clothes.

Meanwhile, he wanted to nurse what seemed like every five minutes, but he has also bit me on both sides recently, so I’m in some pain, and I don’t feel like being constantly available today for nursing.

But of course you know where this is headed. During one of these diaper changes, as he was crying with his mouth wide open, I took a look at his gums. I knew one molar was on its way, but it seems one has broken through where I hadn’t seen even a speck of a bump, and its mate has created this insanely huge bump where the tooth has not yet emerged. The poor boy. I hope this thing pokes through soon. Between the biting and the crying and the clinging and the overall toddlerness, I’m at my wit’s end, and I’m guessing he is too.

Fortunately, I have a fabulous wife, who despite having oodles of end-of-semester grading to do has given me break after break today and put smiles on our boy’s face to boot.

Tomorrow is another day. It will be better. It will.

4 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius

4 responses to “one of those days

  1. Schroedinger

    Ugh, sorry it’s been so tough with BG. I hope that molar breaks through and brings back his sunny side 🙂

  2. Awh…we have days like that. Teething SUCKS too. Hugs your way….

  3. Jen

    So Sorry poor BG and thus poor mama’s are struggling. Teething sucks hardcore! Btw, I just noticed the new pic above (could be old bc my iPhone doesn’t show headers) but I was thinking about getting chunk that same book! Do you like it? random, I know… oh, also, we are getting the veggie burgers you suggested this week to maybe help chunk get some veg into his now picky diet! Thanks for the suggestion.

    • reproducinggenius

      We LOVE Mama, Mommy, and Me! It’s one of BG’s favorite books. I highly recommend it.

      Glad you’re getting the veggie burgers. I hope he likes them! That same company sells little bite-sized, fun-shaped healthy things for kids (broccoli bites, and something else, I think). If you go to Wh.ole Fo.ods, they’re in the frozen section with the baby foods.

Leave a Reply

