thankful for our toddler

Thanksgiving at home was a success–except for the fact that by the time we ate dinner, which was BG’s normal dinner time, he was totally spent and positively disinterested in the food we made (oh, and it was good). So he had rolls with butter and we pulled out the ever-trusty veggie burgers and gave him one of those. He did, however, have a few bites of pumpkin cheesecake. I don’t think he’s ever eaten anything sweetened with much of any sugar before, so he was at first a little taken aback by the sweetness and really puckered with each bite. Then he sort of dug in and loved it. We aren’t really supposed to be giving him any dairy, but for today, we let it slide a little.

I think the big issue is that he has his first molar coming in. It looks so nasty! It’s this enormous bump, and I can’t help but gawk at it when his mouth is open. I hope it comes quickly; unfortunately, this boy is a slow teether, so it could still be another couple of weeks. Poor guy.

We’ve been dealing with a lot of erratic toddler behavior as a result of the teething too. Last night, we were singing, and I was dancing him around, and he reached for my face  and bit me so incredibly hard that my jaw is literally bruised and swollen from it. He has done this two or three times in the past, and it’s always around some pretty horrific teething. It’s moments like these that we’re probably lucky he’s not in daycare, lest he bite some other child’s ear off or something.

But amidst this toddler behavior is a lot of good. For instance, today, we went for a long walk through these lovely hills covered in oaks, and lots of others were out walking their dogs. BG greeted each one with, “Hi Di-Di! Di Di!” (Di-Di = dog) as he kicked his legs excitedly. This boy loves dogs so much that he often laughs uncontrollably when they’re in his presence, and now that he can greet them, he seems even more pleased. I wish we could get him a puppy so that the two of them could gnaw on each other.

I don’t know where I’m going with any of this. I’m tired and full and happy to have had a day with my family, even if my baby is turning into a little wolverine.

Coherent thoughts to come tomorrow. For now, a glass of wine, some TV with the wife, and then sleep.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Genius

Leave a Reply

