the best of plans

Almost every year, we travel to my mom’s house this time of year, and I end up cooking the majority of the Thanksgiving dinner, absorbing my mother’s stress, and finding myself utterly exhausted by my constant attempts at trying to make the holiday a little more relaxing. This year, we are blissfully off the hook. My parents are on a cruise celebrating their anniversary, and my siblings and I are scattered to the wind. Actually, we’re hunkered down during this cold, cold spell enjoying some sorely-needed at-home time together.

Tomorrow, we’ll not be preparing a huge feast, although there will be the aforementioned stuffed pumpkin, which we’re very excited to try, and there will also be a delicious pumpkin cheesecake. Any excuse to enjoy pumpkin in our household is a good one.

Overall, we expect a stress-free day with no work (very unusual around here) and just good family time. There will be a walk at our favorite county park. There will be wine. There will be laughter and hugs and kisses and good family time. And this year, as much as I love my parents and siblings, I am so thankful that I get this day with my precious little family.

Sometimes having no plans is the best plan of all.

3 Comments

Filed under holidays

3 responses to “the best of plans

  1. Sounds like it’s shaping up to be the perfect day!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! glad you’re celebrating it the way you want to.

  3. poppycat

    I know it sounds terrible but I thoroughly enjoy family free holidays. Holidays at our house with just Cat and I, and now the kids, are just so much more plesant and peaceful. I understand your enjoyment of a family free holiday completely.

Leave a Reply

