A Sidekick Quickie

Surprise! J here, and I’m guest bloggin tonight. I know, I know, I haven’t been around in ages. That’s because 1) I got m’self a job, and 2) I got m’self a toddler, and 3) I got m’self another blog (school related) to neglect, so, you get the idea.

Nevertheless, T has taken to her fainting couch with some sniffles, and the little one is asleep, which leaves you, dear readers, with me, the sidekick. So what do you want to know? What questions do you have for the “other mother”? Do your partners have certain fears or concerns? Do you? I have 14 months of experience, but no answers, so ask away.  . . .

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Sidekick Quickie

  1. Elsha Quinn

    Hey J! I know this is a weird one, but when T was pregnant, you mentioned her smell changed. Did it ever change back?

  2. Do you have any parenting books to recommend? I’m finding most of them to be either condescending, annoying or offensive but I’m open to suggestions.

  3. Jodi

    For a while during her pregnancy, T did smell different than I was accustomed to; I’d describe it as “essence of vitamin.” Yes, it seemed to change once she gave birth and laid off the prenatals. That was one distinctly weird side-effect of pregnancy, at least from my vantage point. We do get used to our partners smelling a certain way, and we don’t really think about it I guess.

    The only parenting book I consult is the Dr. Sears Parenting Bible. It covers most issues from both a medical/biological perspective as well as a huse dose of “been there, done that” wisdom. They have nine children, so I guess they have some expertise in all things baby related. I like it, and I don’t feel the need to consult othter books, though, now that I think about it, their advice for sleep issues was limited. It basically advocates co-sleeping, and that was fine for us (for a while). You should know that they are attachment parenting advocates.

  4. poppycat

    – What’s your favorite thing about being the other mother J?

Leave a Reply

