election night

We’re awaiting tonight’s election results with a fair amount of interest. It’s no presidential election, but as political junkies, my wife and I tend to get pretty invested in these races, even those outside of our state.

While the polls only closed here in California just an hour ago, it looks fairly certain that M.eg Wh.itman has lost–a relief because she would have been a total disaster, and I’m tired of disastrous governance of this state. Under Schwarzenegger’s reign as governor, funding for higher education has all but disappeared, leaving my teaching career on hold. I have not taught since the fall of 2008, and I miss it so. Here’s hoping that with new leadership, we’ll have better funding for our schools.

I am also watching Prop 19 closely. It looks like it may not pass, but I wish it would. Having lived in Humboldt County where so much of the economy is wrapped up in pot, I’ve seen what the money can do. I know there are problems with this proposition, but I would love to see California make a statement and move ahead on legalizing this. Why not? It’s a plant for crying out loud. It’s far less harmful than alcohol. And to top it off, it could bring in some great revenue! I don’t use the stuff (anymore), but I know many highly functioning, responsible people who do, and it seems utterly ridiculous to me that it’s illegal.

And now I’m rambling like I just smoked a little myself. Now I just have mommy brain to blame.

So what’s going on where you are? Anything good?

7 Comments

Filed under Politics

7 responses to “election night

  1. A.

    Eh. It all sort of went to “pot” around here, so to speak. I just have to remind myself that this all cycles around….

  2. Jen

    Honestly, it’s in the shitter where we live, go figure! Good ole’ Midwest… Kansas went totally Republican and Missouri was split, but even Ike was kicked out of the office! Oy vey. 2 years.

  3. We live in a very blue state so I didn’t have to worry about it here (though I voted of course!). I’m glad it looks like we didn’t lose the Senate, but yuck…the House is so RED. sigh.

  4. I live in a very red state, but, the county where I live (Dallas), went completely blue this election,a total bright spot in all the red.

    Also, Dallas has been dry since before prohibition. This election brought about a change with two propositions that would allow sales of beer and wine in grocery stores and the sale of all liquor types by bars and restaurants without the need for a private club membership.

    To some it may sound like we are exiting the dark ages, but for us it will be a blessing for tax revenues and the attraction of new businesses (hopefully a Trader Joes or 4).

    • reproducinggenius

      Somehow I always forget that there are still dry counties in this country, but hooray for yours for jumping back in. Yes, the tax revenues will be really great (this is what we were hoping for regarding Prop 19 too).

  5. Kim

    I’m right there with you. Northern CA girl and thank GOD we didn’t end up with Whitman and her horrific ads. Gee…what was her running platform? Couldn’t tell you except it seemed to be all about bashing Jerry Brown.

    And as a former Sonoma State University student, I completely agree with you (and voted this way) on prop 19. That could have brought some seriously needed revenue to our state. And find me someone who tells me that pot is more harmful than alcohol and I will show you someone who is full of $#!t!! But at least we got one right…

  6. poppycat

    We get to keep Patty Murray, THANK GAWD! Dino Rossi is, well, he’s a douche, among other things. This is the third time in a row he has run and lost (the other two times were for Gov, not senate). Perhaphs he will get the message this time and save everyone some time and money the next time around? One can hope.

Leave a Reply

