Hello, November! *sniffle* *cough*

It’s hard for me to grasp right now that it’s November. It seems like we’ve spent the last two months mired in one illness after another, and this week looks much the same. Baby Genius is slowly recovering from his latest cold, but lo and behold, when my wife woke me to say good bye on her way to work this morning, she sadly informed me that she had caught his cold. I would really prefer not to be next. Really. I’m fairly dismayed at the number of illnesses we’ve got running around here, and I know it won’t get better. BG isn’t even in daycare!

Ah, but it doesn’t have to be daycare, does it? For awhile, BG and I were going to story time at the local library most Tuesdays, and when we didn’t make it, we would pick a day and go to the library just to read. There’s a decent kids’ section where he can crawl around. But in their efforts to make this a kid-friendly zone, the library staff has placed in a box some big blocks. Fabric blocks. Fabric blocks which clearly cannot be disinfected. When we go to the library, BG insists upon getting down to crawl around. You’ll never guess what he goes for first–not in a million years. Okay, I’ll give you a hint: they’re cube-shaped, microbe-soaked toys. Yes, the blocks. And what does Baby Genius do with said blocks? He puts each one in his mouth. In an effort to lighten up and let the kid enjoy life, I often just let him do it, while attempting from time to teach him that blocks don’t go in the mouth. Sadly, my lessons are lost on him, and those microbes? Well, each one of them finds a new home traveling through my son’s immune system.

Then there are the swings. We should be wiping them down, but who remembers to do that when their kid is diving out of their arms?

But the worst of all is our Mu.sic T.ogether class. We sit in a room with lots of other squirmy germy kids, and BG shares their instruments. While there is a “wet basket” for those toys that have been mouthed, this clearly deals with only one source of germy evil. Those instruments that have been handled by the germy kids are the same instrument my kid mouths, and you can see where this cycle goes.

And then there are J’s students. I don’t even know where to begin with them. They are college freshmen living in the petri dish that is dorm life, and while my wife is fastidious with handwashing, there’s only so much one can do.

I know, I know. I’m acting like I’m the first parent in the world whose kid has gotten sick. Frankly, I know I’m lucky that he was sick only once in his first year, and I’m really fortunate that so far he has not had any secondary infections, but I want my boy to be well for awhile. I want my family to be well too, and I don’t want to sequester us in our home forever.

So, what does one do? How do you keep your family healthy with a toddler. Or, are we simply doomed for the next year or two? (please, please tell me I’m not doomed!)

9 Comments

Filed under sick

9 responses to “Hello, November! *sniffle* *cough*

  1. poppycat

    Ugh. So not looking forward to that in our house.

    Hope your household finds itself disease free for the rest of the season.

  2. Holland was soooo sick his first year ofdaycare and got tubes in his ears at 7 months! This year has been much better but I think if we want our kids to experience life then it’s going to happen. Sigh…

  3. We have an almost 3 month old and H cares for a 16mo who goes to classes and open gym and the library. We aim for at least 20 minutes of fresh air everyday and regular, good, deep sleep… that being said, Esther has now been sick twice in five weeks. Obviously our methods are not working! Ugh. Cold season sucks.

  4. I can’t find the pattern yet with our kids…

    Kyan started daycare four days a week at five months. An expensive daycare with all first-children in her class and exceptionally neurotic parents, ourselves included. I can’t think of another kid at that daycare who come to ‘school’ with prominent snot, yet they passed everything around. She was sick for at least six months straight. Fevers, diarrhea, colds, suspected asthma, a UTI, all kinds of stuff.

    Rilo started daycare three days a week at four months. An affordable daycare with mostly second/third children and exceptionally laid-back parents. It’s official policy that a runny nose is no reason to keep a kid home. Plus he’s exposed to all of Kyan’s elementary-school germs, and she and Michelle get strep about five times a year. With all of his exposures, at nine months he’s only had one illness — an ear infection.

    Really long way of saying you’re not doomed, but you’re not NOT doomed either. It just depends on the kid, the current strains of illness going around, and the immunities he develops in the course of his everyday life.

    Good luck, and may there be a respite in your future!

  5. I know how frustrating it is (Miles has a cold right now and it just started to settle in my throat, sigh). I don’t think there’s much you can do…if you keep them in a bubble now, it’ll just be awful when school starts later. All we can do is hang in there and bitch to each other 😉

  6. Jen

    I completely feel your frustration but I don’t hold any magic answers. Chunk was sick once before starting daycare at 8 months, and has bascially been sick since. I was just happy to hold off an ear infection until 10 months! My ped says it is just the necessary evil to building up their little immune systems, so hopefully once we pay our dues now, next fall will be better!

  7. we started with some homeopathic drops to help boost the immune system, and then we also have other homeo drops for the sniffles and such. We continue them past the sickness. I think they help, no medical back up, just my gut. And with two they pass the sickness back and forth – this is our third year in day care, and while they still get the colds, they don’t quite have the longevity or ferocious nature they once did. Hang in there and I wish you all health sometime soon.

  8. I so hear you on this. We are pretty convinced that we will have a cold all winter – with varying degress of coughs and snot and fevers. It seems to clear up and then within a few days the drippy nose is back. We do our best to wash our hands and take our daily vitamins. And I think I might buy stock in tissues.

  9. October she had two colds and spread it to everyone and poppped a tooth. Basically there has been very little sleep. F and I are both getting flu shots since we work in education and basically we are just going to duke it out. I don’t wipe swings or anything else. I do wash her hands, but I doubt it helps.

Leave a Reply

