it’s not all bad

 

I have been Ms. Crankyblogger lately, and I apologize for that. I’ve been rather crotchety in general of late, mostly because of the missing sleep, but I woke up this morning, and it wasn’t raining for the first time in the last ten days, and I felt somehow better. My wife and I put the baby in the stroller and walked to a little diner where we had a late breakfast, and where BG took his morning nap. How lovely it was just to get out of the house, to breathe some fresh air, and later on, even to see some sun. It’s miraculous what a change in the weather will do for one’s disposition.

I realized lately that I have focused entirely too much on what Baby Genius isn’t doing (i.e. sleeping), and not enough on what he is doing. He’s doing a hell of a lot. So I bring to you some Baby Genius updates in bullet form:

  • He giggles, oh does he giggle, and J is the one who makes him giggle the most and the wildest. Last night, I was walking him to sleep, and he saw her and burst into a fit of giggles. We have no idea what did it, but he couldn’t stop laughing, and neither could we. He really is a happy boy, despite his lack of sleep.
  • He has started doing this thing where he goes “muhmuhmuhmuhmuh” when he’s tired. We would love to think that he associates this sound with us, but it seems to be more of a “please feed me” or “please help me get to sleep.” We’re happy to indulge any early attempts at communication.
  • The boy smiles like there’s no tomorrow, especially at the two of us. His big blue eyes shine with so much affection, and it’s just impossible to be even a little frustrated when he flashes those gums at us.

  • Speaking of his eyes, I think they’re going to stay blue.  As a brown-eyed girl with a brown-green (hazel)-eyed wife, it seems strange to have this little blonde-haired, blue-eyed cherub.
  • BG likes to stand now (with assistance of course), and if you pick him up at all, he will quickly plant his feet under him so that he can show that he can stand. He picks his head up, and looks around as though he is unbelievably proud of himself.
  • He’s drooling a lot, blowing bubbles, and is clearly beginning his teething journey, although we don’t see any evidence thereof on his gums just yet.
  • Lately, he likes to hit himself in the head while nursing. He just swings his arm, and punches himself over and over. I tell him he needs to stop lest people think he’s unstable. He tells me he is unstable.
  • He gives kisses–these big, open-mouthed things where he gathers up your face, pulls it toward him, and plants a big, slobbery kiss wherever his mouth happens to land.
  • He is a breastfeeding superstar and likes to try to fit both his fist and my breast in his mouth at the same time. So far, no luck, but he keeps trying.
  • Toes are also a new object of his affection–his toes more specifically. He loves to try to put them in his mouth, but when he manages to get his bare toes in his mouth, he makes the sourest of faces. It seems his toes taste awful.
  • There’s more–a whole lot more–but I’ll save it for his five-month letter.

This little boy, despite his sleep difficulties and weird poop, is awesome, and we’re so proud to be his moms, even on the most sleep-weary days. He’s enough to make even the crabbiest of moms happy beyond measure.

8 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius

8 responses to “it’s not all bad

  1. He is SO precious. 🙂 i adoreee the smile!

  2. Now that’s a great smile!

  3. YAY! Those pictures are so sweet, and it’s wonderful to hear about all of the amazing things he’s up to. I’m so glad you’re feeling better, too. I’m with you: the weather has a huge effect on my moods. So glad you’re getting some sunshine and fresh air.

  4. A.

    I’m working on something similar to this post. What a cutie he is!! I love to hear about all of the things he’s doing.

  5. gypsygrrl

    caption of for that first photo?
    WHO NEEDS SLEEP…? NOT A BABY GENIUS!

  6. One more thing about the sleep: I’m going to ask you to do the same thing I asked Calliope to do when W was cranky at 4.5 months. Run your finger over his gums. Anything? Anything?

  7. reproducinggenius

    We don’t feel anything just yet (maybe the hint of a hint of something on the top?), but I do think he’s got some preteething discomfort going on. We tried Tylenol on him one night, but it didn’t seem to do a speck of good. Maybe it was more than the discomfort keeping him awake. Still, I haven’t ruled this out–not one bit. 🙂

  8. poppycat

    He’s just the cutest boy and so happy too. I’m glad you gave us the run down on all his new big boy favorite things to do. It made me smile, especially the part about him giggling at J.

Leave a Reply

