mother’s milk

Never in my life did I think I would find myself googling the color and consistency of bowel movements, but that is precisely what I have been doing today. I don’t plan to share the gory details here for fear of driving you all away (let’s just say that “blood” was one of my search terms), but our son’s diapers–and one in particular– have given us cause for alarm, and now we’ve got to go see his pediatrician today.

My preliminary research tells me I may have to give up dairy soon–my beloved morning yogurt, the cream in my decaf, and even cheese. I was a vegetarian for years, but never vegan because I am a dairy fiend, and the thought of giving it up frightens me a little. Don’t get me wrong; I’m intimately familiar with all kinds of alternatives. Soy and rice milk have long been parts of my diet–but voluntarily. There was always the option of having cream or milk of the bovine persuasion.

Honestly, though, I’m hoping that a mere sensitivity to something in my breastmilk is all we’re dealing with here. I would far rather endure the challenge of giving up dairy than to have something horribly wrong with our baby’s GI tract. I’ll subsist on oats and sprouts alone if I have to. It doesn’t mean I’ll be happy about it, but I will if it means our baby will be okay.

5 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius, disgusting things, food

5 responses to “mother’s milk

  1. Jean

    Having been through this as well, I am hoping everything is alright with teh little man. My son was so allergic to eggs in particular that for 8 months his skin was oozing and bleeding, and his GI tract suffered horribly. If there is anything I can help you guys with, send a shout out!!!!

  2. gypsygrrl

    sending hugs and love and hoping its something as *simple* as decreasing your dairy intake 🙂

  3. vee

    You should share the details! If it was foamy and green, it *could* be a foremilk/hindmilk issue? I hope it’s not dairy issues for you.

  4. Ooh, I hope everything turns out okay. poor little man!

  5. poppycat

    Oh no. I hope it turns out to be nothing big. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

