budding bookworm

Today Baby Genius went to his first bookstore. For the first time, J and I got to peruse the children’s section without a feeling of emptiness or longing or sorrow. We came away with a few things to give our wee one for Christmas, but my favorite was the book below. It’s a little old for him now, but it’s a gem:

big_bad_bullybug

We have been building Baby Genius’ library for some time now, but there is something really wonderful about adding to it now that he’s here.

So tell me, what are your favorite children’s books? What should no child’s library be without?

6 Comments

Filed under books

6 responses to “budding bookworm

  1. Jen

    I love kids books! My fav is ‘When Pigasso met Mootisse’ a fictional story of Picasso and Matisse to teach kids a little art history. Most excellent book, esp those of us in art history who are a little biased. 🙂

  2. j

    Great choice, I love Ed Emberley!
    No children’s library should be without:
    A collection of Todd Parr books
    A collection of Mo Willems books
    Hug by Jez Alborough
    A collection of Eric Carle books
    As I Went Walking by Sue Williams
    Any of the David Shannon books
    One Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
    Little Smudge by Leonic(sp?)
    Big Al by Andrew Clements
    The Great Kapok Tree by Lynne Cherry
    Leaf Man (and other books) by Lois Ehlert

    I really could go on forever. I love children’s books and have quite the extensive library at school. =)

  3. gypsygrrl

    hands down: where the sidewalk ends. it is still my fav book and i must buy myself a new copy because i gave mine away last year :}

  4. Jude

    Chicka Chicka Boom Boom
    anything by Todd Parr
    All of those “If you give a ______ a _______” books

  5. poppycat

    My all time favorite childrens book is the Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. Something for when he’s a bit older of course.

  6. Next in line

    The Secret World of Og
    The Teenage Liberation Handbook

    Both for older, but must haves in my world. I will add more as I think of them.

Leave a Reply

