moms on the move

This week, in an attempt to liven things up and feel a little more human, we’ve been getting out more regularly. For some time, Baby Genius was having a rough time when we put him in his stroller. On a couple of occasions, we attempted to go for walks only to have to turn around because he was melting down. But staying at home and doing nothing but housework hasn’t been good for us. Tuesday, we decided to finally try for another walk, and we aimed high by going to a trail through town that we haven’t been on since I was pregnant.

DSCN0503

It was so lovely to get out. This trail winds through some small vineyards, and they’re beginning to change color, so they were quite stunning. Baby Genius did beautifully. He slept through the first part of the walk and then woke up to enjoy the shadows being cast inside his seat.

DSCN0501 

Upon completing our walk, we were feeling so good that we decided to head to the market for ingredients for dinner. I put him in the Moby, and he stayed awake, content to look around and see the sights. He only fell asleep as we got in line to pay, but he was in such a good mood. We learned later that the outing had been good for his sleep schedule too because when we came home, he had a nice chunky nap. We were stunned, and of course, delighted to have gotten out.

This confidence extended to yesterday, when my mom was visiting, and we opted to take her to a local Biodynamic winery for some tasting and a mini hike through the vineyards.

PB110676

I wore BG in the wrap most of the time, and again he did beautifully. We even took some breaks during our walk to nurse.

DSCN0523

Walking through vineyards this time of year is really magical. So often, one doesn’t get to really experience the visual splendor that is autumn here in California, but in wine country, that’s another story.

DSCN0509

Autumn has always been my favorite time of year, and last year, I learned that this is the place to be during autumn, yet this year, I have missed so much of it already. I have been indoors day after day, and the weeks have passed me by. I have missed the freedom of so easily going for walks, of being outside, of taking in this gorgeous place where we live. This day at the winery gave me a  little taste of that freedom I used to have, and sharing it with a wakeful, calm Baby Genius was so fun.

PB110711

 More importantly, however, getting out reminds J and I of who we used to be–of who we are. And it is helping us see who the three of us can be as a family. We want to be an active family, a family that goes places and soaks in experiences, and that is precisely the family we have been this week.

7 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius, family, Uncategorized

7 responses to “moms on the move

  1. It’s so good to get out and it’s great to realize that you CAN! We have really tried to keep doing things we love (as long as they are before 9:30pm haha) and bringing him with us where appropriate.

  2. A.

    It looks like it was such a wonderful day – I’m so glad that BG enjoyed himself!!

  3. Yay, what a wonderful post! I love that you’re putting down the roots that are making your family into what you want it to be.

    I’m super jealous that you live in wine country, btw. That area is so unbelievably fabulous.

  4. Thanks for the pictures – they look like very happy outings!

  5. I love picture posts! So glad to see you are all doing well.

    I’m incredibly jealous of your Fall outings. It has been so HOT here in the south that I can barely believe Thanksgiving is around the corner. I need leaves that change colors and temperatures to drop…mosty, I need weather!

  6. God I remember that..getting out made a HUGE difference. I felt like myself once I started doing that. I LOVE the last pic, its really beautiful.

  7. poppycat

    Lovely. Good job BG. We sat our friends 7 mo old boy recently and the only time he would stop crying was when we took him out in the stroller. I walked him around my neighborhood and grocery store for almost 2.5 hours! I hope BG learns to appreciate on a more regular basis, the wonders of being outside in the stroller.

    You all look so amazing and happy! Fall in wine counrty is my favorite time. I love the pungent smell of grapes that have fallen rotting in the soil. It smells much better than it sounds, I’m sure you know.

Leave a Reply

