how is this fair?

I haven’t taken the opportunity to talk about my body much at all since I gave birth, but circumstances have presented themselves that encourage me to do so.

In short, I’ve got my first postpartum period.

That’s right, readers. I am eight weeks postpartum, and I’ve got my period. For the record, my postpartum bleeding ended completely only two and a half weeks ago. How did I get to be so lucky?

I meant to write about this last week. I had a feeling this was coming. I had EWCM galore and even some ovulation pain. Still, I thought naively, I’m breastfeeding. I won’t have a period for at least a couple of months. Ha. Ha. Ha bloody ha. On Saturday while at my parents’ I had my first hottub since I got pregnant, and on that same day, some spotting, and it was all downhill from there. Amusingly enough, I assumed it might just be a little more postpartum bleeding. Ha.

I guess this means I’m fertile again. My wife jokingly asked today, “Do you want to start TTCing again?” Not today, dear. Not today.

11 Comments

Filed under nablopomo, ovulation, Period

11 responses to “how is this fair?

  1. That is not fair at all! I think mine might be coming soon and it still feels too soon

  2. Karen

    It could be the “six-week bleed” a little late. I had that… What seemed like a period and then none again until 6 months post-partum. And even then, my first cycle was 42 days to my usual 29. So take heart! You may not be complety back to it 🙂

  3. poppycat

    That is truely unfair. Shouldn’t you get at least a good 6 months or something!?! You really are the mother goddess 😉

  4. damn girl ! I am 9 months in and no period. I agree mother goddess!

  5. That is so unfair I am speechless.

  6. A.

    Not fair at all! Agreed with Poppy – mother goddess indeed.

    PS – thanks for the warm compress/mineral oil suggestion for labor!!

  7. Frig. Not right lady…I’m sorry!!! Wish you could have gotten more of a break – geesh.
    xoxo

    Ps. That polar bear is mighty cute!!!!!

  8. nutella

    Not fair at all. If you were a straight woman sleeping with a man you could totally be having “Irish twins”.

  9. vee

    Me too (http://veeandjay.wordpress.com/2009/05/07/that-old-familiar-feeling/) though since then, it’s been a bit hit and miss and pretty light, so there’s a glimmer of hope for you!

  10. Somethings in life can’t be explained. This might be one of them. I, like you, labored for a very long time and had a very supportive team who completely stood by my “no medical interventions” idea. I was so damn sure I was a woman and my sole purpose was to birth this child, and if I couldn’t do it, what does that say for my ability to be a woman. I went into labor at 7 pm on Wednesday night and K was born at 7:54 am on Friday morning — I get long labor. I finally got to a point where I accepted the epidural but only on a bolus. I wanted to control how little or how much, not a constant flow, and they agreed. All of a sudden, in the middle of pushing, I looked at my doctor and said, “I need a c-section. I need it now.” And he looked at me and said, “Are you because” and I yelled “NOW.” Crazy those mother instincts, it saved K’s life. However, it took a long time to realize it was motherly instincts and not giving up…
    Where I did give up, and whole-heartedly regret, was with breastfeeding. We did really well in the hospital but I was released Monday and was back in school on Tuesday, taking 19 units. I definitely regret giving up breast feeding, although I did pump for about a month…
    Nonetheless, I didn’t get my first cycle until about 6 months, might have been closer to 8. My post partum craziness lasted a good week and a half, but I was grateful for the extended time off.
    I love reading your blog. I wish I had blogged through all of K’s experiences.

    • Bytheway, if you go back a couple blogs, you’ll see a photo where J has the exact same profile as BG. Amazing how he looks so much like both of you…some things cannot be explain. xoxo

Leave a Reply

