it’s a small world

Thank you for all the reassurance and the really great questions. I’ll be getting to those gradually over the next couple of weeks. I’m so excited to have some writing inspiration!

I know it’s perfectly normal to blog much less once the baby comes; I think I just miss it, and yet I also miss having much to write about. Honestly, I’m just experiencing a bit of a creative block overall. Our lives have gotten so tiny these days. For instance, today consisted of feeding the baby, trying to get him to nap (unsuccessfully), feeding him again, watching him smile, feeding him, watching him fight sleep, trying to fit in some work, feeding him, and watching an episode of Pro.ject R.unway that we missed last week. There are so many days when I come to the end of the day and wonder where it went and what I did. It’s such a strange feeling.

Don’t get me wrong; I don’t mind at all that my world is suddenly so small. In fact, it’s really rather beautiful. There is nothing so precious as taking a midday nap snuggled up with my son while my wife reads, nothing quite so fulfilling as watching our boy get so excited over something as small as the shadows from the light fixture in his room or the elephants hanging above his changing table. I find myself at the end of the day reflecting on the smiles I’ve seen and replaying the songs we have made up to make him smile or sleep or stop crying. I can’t believe we get to have this life. Neither J nor I can believe that they let us bring this baby home and that we get to keep him forever. And sometimes I just need to remember all of this.

J and I are accustomed to being really busy. Normally during the fall, we’re teaching multiple classes, spending whole days grading papers, commuting, attending meetings, and generally feeling stressed out. We rarely see one another, and we rarely have time to stop and breathe. And during the last two autumns, we were going through the rigors of TTC to boot. So it’s not just having a baby that makes everything feel so different right now; it’s nearly everything. And I think that I may be having trouble writing about it all because it’s unfamiliar, as great as so much of it is, and it surprises me.

Anyway, I’m so grateful for all of your comments, for your perspectives on writing about life with a new baby, and I’m looking forward to sharing more of that with you and finding my voice as a blogger who happens to be a mom. I’m also really looking forward to jumping into these questions (although I think I’ve started to answer oneofhismoms’ question), so look for the first of those in the next couple of days (and if you have others, feel free to leave them).

1 Comment

Filed under blogtherapy, life

One response to “it’s a small world

  1. A.

    Sorry, late to the game!! I’m so glad life is treating you so well.

    My question….where did you get most of your valuable information on breastfeeding dos and don’ts? Books? Lactation consultant? Pediatrician?

Leave a Reply

