my fibroid friends strike again

Earlier today, we packed up the boy and headed out for my ultrasound to check on my ovary. As we waited, we ran into the last u/s tech we saw who measured then-Eggghead at 34 weeks. She called him a moose. Today, she remembered us, and when she asked how much he weighed at birth and we told her, she said, “So you had a c-section then.” I was proud to reply that I hadn’t, and she walked away feigning sympathy pain.

Today was so different from my other trips to this place. We had a baby in tow, and my wife wouldn’t be joining me in the room. I also wasn’t filled with nervous excitement–just nervousness. Fortunately, the tech got down to business quickly, first with the external and then the internal (so very unpleasant just six weeks after pushing out our baby), and I saw her measuring various dark spots. Eventually, I saw her type the word “fibroid” on the screen, and I said something about wondering about how they were doing. Finally, she broke her silence and told me, “I’m not supposed to say anything, but your ovaries look completely normal. I think your midwife felt this fibroid. And sure enough, the fibroid was in the vicinity of the ovary and was very much the “golf ball size” the midwife had described. Both of my ovaries were free of any masses and were merely bespeckled with a few normal follicles. In other words, my fibroids have caused needless fear once again, and all is well. Sigh.

Afterward, we decided to fit in a trip to TraderJ0e’s–a big mistake. It started pouring on our way there. The baby was decidedly displeased with something, and he started crying like we’ve never heard him cry. Once J got him settled, and he went to sleep, we thought we were in the clear, but then we got into the store, soaking wet and started to rush around only for him to awaken in the same bad mood. Because this was our first trip to a store with him in the carseat and not a wrap, we were already nervous, but at soon as he started crying, I was ready to take him back to the car. But that was not to be so easy. In our rush to get out of the car and out of the rain, we had left both of our sets of keys in the car. We had left our cell phones. We had left the diaper bags. And we had locked it all up safely out of our reach. Half an hour later, J had gotten help and was back in the car with the baby. I had finished up the shopping, and we were ready to go home. Now we’re all safe and sound and dry, ready to stick around the house for a few days without going anywhere.

Long gone are the days when shopping was fun, when a trip out of the house was easy. There are days like today when I miss that, but I still wouldn’t trade it. I’d just rather stay in.

Finally, because no post these days is complete without a photo, I present to you our impressive six-week-old:

wideeyes

ToughGuy

exhausted

9 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius, life

9 responses to “my fibroid friends strike again

  1. My honey is still jealous of people who just jump in the car and drive. It was so insanely simple before the car seats and their passengers. We had no idea.

  2. Oh I have shopping experiences like yours without a baby. Losing keys, locking things forgetting to lock other things, not paying for parking and leaving purchases in the store are just a few of the things that go wrong for me. Adding a baby might spell disaster for me.

    I am happy your appointment was good news, but too bad about the exam.

  3. Glad your ovaries are pretty! So sorry to hear of the grocery incident, but it sounds like you handled it best of all scenarios. And – he’s so adorable! Much to be proud of. xoxo

  4. A.

    What a relief that your ovaries are a-okay. Sorry that you had to stress about it for nothing.

    Look at how strong he is, holding up his head!

  5. Cindyhoo2

    Excellent news on the fibroid.
    BG is so expressive!No wonder you would rather forgo shopping to hang out where he is the happiest.

  6. So that’s the scooter causing all the ruckus. He is growing and changing so fast and already holding his head up:)

  7. Joy

    What a silly comment from the technician, relief about the fibroid, ordeal with the trip to the store and beautiful and advanced baby you have!

  8. Oh man! That TJ’s excursion sounds hilariously stressful! I’m glad you got back into the car and are safe and dry. And hooray for the fibroid that wasn’t!

Leave a Reply

