and then there’s plan b

The more we talked about this visit, the more I was stressed out by travelling with a one-month-old, with dealing with the logistics of seeing people, with stopping for feedings, with all of it. Ultimately, we decided tonight that we aren’t going, and suddenly I feel so much better. I told my mom, and while she was disappointed, she didn’t give me any grief about it. Of course, I felt the need to over-explain and had a fair amount of self-imposed guilt, but I’m comforted by the fact that I’ve made the best decision for our son. He’s too young to travel.

A day like today makes that all the more apparent. I fed our Baby Genius from the time we woke up to nearly noon. There were short breaks, even a fifteen minute nap or two for him here and there, but he’s all about eating right now, and I’m guessing this is linked to a big fat growth spurt. I’m happy to do all of this feeding–I love nursing our son–but damn I’m exhausted. Were this to happen while travelling next weekend, I don’t know what we’d do. See? It’s too soon.

We did have a little outing tonight prompted by some cabin fever. BG went to his first restaurant with his moms. We sat outside, had a beer and some Mexican food, and enjoyed the warm evening. Our son slept through the whole thing. It was delightful.

When we came home, we saw the nearly full moon, and I became a little misty-eyed thinking about the last full moon–the full moon of BG’s birth. This full moon marks nearly a full month since his birth, and I can hardly believe it. Is time going to forever fly this quickly now? Am I going to blink and then see the full moon shining down at his high school graduation?

3 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius

3 responses to “and then there’s plan b

  1. vee

    Good call, I say. We didn’t venture further than our local neighbourhood and friends until BB was into a more easily predictable rhythm and speedier at feeding. Make people visit you!

  2. jay

    I agree with my wife!

    And I got all misty eyed reading about your full moon etc (WTF is wrong with me?!) ahhhh. I still remmeber what a fantastically sunny day it was the day BB was born. Oh god, I’ve set myself off again now.

    Er, bye! xxxx

  3. Are you sure it’s been a month? Seems like you just had him last week.

    He no longer looks like a tomato head:)

Leave a Reply

