recovery updates

I’m beginning to work on a birth story. It’s surprisingly emotional to write, but it’s also something I really need to do to process everything. It was a beautiful experience, but the comedown from it all–the pregnancy, the labor, the birth–is challenging. I cry over everything right now, and while I’m happy, I have many moments of struggle. There’s nothing like crashing from nine months of pregnancy hormones all in a few days.

We aren’t sleeping much. C is a great sleeper during the day, but at night, he wants to eat nearly every hour, and he hates being away from us in his moses basket (even though he’s a mere two feet from me). He manages to escape even the snugest of swaddles (even the special swaddle blankets!), and he isn’t keen on pacifiers. We’ll figure it all out, I’m sure. We’re just learning to cope with these challenges and trying to find some sense of routine.

Breastfeeding is going really well. It is challenging, and it was difficult at first learning along with him how to find the proper latch, which holds were best, and so on. My milk came in the day after we came home from the hospital, and I learned the joys of engorgement, but he helped relieve that, and now he’s a great nurser. We even nursed in public for the first time today without major incident. My mom, a former La Leche League leader, prescribed a beer or glass of wine each night, and I am obeying diligently. It’s so lovely to have a beer. So lovely.

C’s jaundice is starting to improve. We had another doctor’s appointment today after having a blood draw two days ago, and his levels were still pretty high. The doctor sent us to the hospital lab once again for immediate testing, with the threat of admitting him should his levels be higher. We were relieved to learn that his levels are significantly lower, and that he’s on the mend. More sunlight and more feeding should ensure it goes away for good. Here he is sunbathing:

IMG_2766

I’ve had a difficult physical time with some elements of my recovery. So many doctor’s visits and trips out of the house in our first days home resulted in reinjuring a tear. Thanks to the wonder that is the sitz bath, I’m finally improving. Speaking of which, what is the deal with this package? What does this photo mean?

IMG_2770

My last mountain to conquer with this recovery is my swollen feet. I had to have a bit of pitocin during the latter stages of my labor, and apparently one unpleasant side effect is horribly swollen feet. It’s been uncomfortable, and there seems to be little I can do to relieve them. I’m longing for the day that I can feel less like an ogre.

We’re hanging in there. This post-partum stuff is challenging, but we’re getting the hang of it. One day we’ll feel normal again, right? Whether we do or not, he’s so worth it.

IMG_2787

16 Comments

Filed under Baby Genius

16 responses to “recovery updates

  1. poppycat

    He really is so beautiful. I wish I had some great advice for your recovery but I don’t. I just hope you continue to heal and adjust to this new life quickly and with ease. I can kind of relate to the sudden pregnancy homone crash and I know that has to be a real challenge.

    Can’t wait to hear the birth story!

  2. your sitz bath is creepy. our sitz bath just looked like a big bag of pot. and i could bear putting my ass in it. it hurt too much.

    i know your messy lady parts feels like weird new normal, but you will rediscover your body as a whole, healed entity sometime soon. and the hormones? they will subside. keep drinking that delicious beer.

    i’m so proud of your breastfeeding! you and c clearly have some fab teamwork happening.

    take your time with the birthstory. it took me a long time to tell my whole story, just to “go there” again. but once i did, i was able to purge some of the more harrowing parts of the story.

    thinking about your family all the time, friend. i hope you can drink in the wonder of this sleep deprived time out of time wonderful season of your life. snuggle deeply into your nest. xx

  3. Joy

    Glad to hear that things are going well and you’re learning how to be with C on the outside. Enjoy this time and soon enought you’ll find your new normal.

  4. Oh, he’s just adorable! I’m impressed that you’ve been out so much; I wasn’t ready to leave the house for nearly a month. Like you, I was surprised at how slow the recovery was–it really took the full six weeks for me to feel mostly human again. Try to get a lot of rest!

  5. Oh T he is GORGEOUS!!!

    And the recovery is sooooooo hard! It definitely took me 6-8 weeks to feel normal. Actually, probably alittle longer to REALLY feel normal. Try to take it easy (easier said than done). This first month is hard hard hard!

  6. So glad the jaundice is getting better. Nutella is here with me and says that the swelling in her legs and feet let up after about 7 days, so you should be seeing relief soon. Drink lots and pee lots 🙂 As far as recovering lady bits, it took about 6 weeks. Hemorrhoids are another story though 😛
    He’s beautiful! Love the pictures.

  7. oh he is BEAUTIFUL~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Post partum is hard, I think Im still recovering ( emotionally ). It gets better I promise!

  8. I like the beer and wine recommendation. I am happy that you are all home and on the way to healing and having your regular old hormones back. What a process this! I am wishing your lady bits peace and happiness.

  9. He is a cutie alright.

    I’ve only heard about the glass of winen nothing about beer but that’s good to know.

    I was told that witch hazel on a pad placed in the freezer works wonders:)

  10. I have heard about the glass of wine,but not about the beer.Making a note of it.

    Witch Hazel on a pad placed in the freezer works wonders I was told.

    He’s smoochable for sure!

  11. alimis

    He is so beautiful!! I am glad to hear that their are a lot of good things happening at your house. It sounds like you all are getting into the swing of things.

  12. Amy

    He is just beautiful! Yes, it takes about five weeks to heal, recoop, and feel like a normal human again. I am just hitting that mark and what a difference I feel. Try using different pacifers. Daniel doesnt really like any pacifers except M.AM. I think because the nipple is long and kind of flat, it seems to be easier for him to keep in his mouth. I also heard that they like different pacis as they grow. At first most things are a guessing game and you find yourself just doing whatever makes them happy :]

  13. A.

    You’re really amazing!

    It sounds like you’re going through a lot, but hopefully, with C.’s jaundice subsiding, you’re turning a corner.

    Keep those feet up, and heal well. Can’t wait to read the birth story.

  14. The recovery time is hard, friend, but you sound so wonderful and are so strong!! You will heal with time – I promise. Reading this post was seriously me in January!! It’s difficult when you are going out to doctors appointments, etc…after everything your body just went through! It’s amazing that any woman can, actually!!

    I’m so happy that breastfeeding is going well too and that C’s jaundice is lessening!!

    I know it’s a lot right now…the lack of sleep, the emotions, the recovery – but you have the most amazing gift right there with you (of course you already know that!), and you should be SO very proud of what you just accomplished. I just read the first chapter of your birth story and had tears coming down my face. You are an inspiration to other women out there. You expressed yourself beautifully too…..I kept thinking “that is what birth SHOULD be like!!”

    I’m so happy for you both, and just in awe of your beautiful son. Isn’t being a mother just amazing??

    Love to you all and can’t wait to read the rest.
    xoxo

  15. ps. forgot to comment on the sitz bath packaging…..freaky!

    i never used a sitz bath….but got in the tub every day for 5 days or so with tons of herbs.

    also….e.arth mama angel baby’s “new mama bottom spray” was heaven for me. i used it for weeks…..

  16. those cheeks are AMAZING! wow! such a sweet baby you have there.

Leave a Reply

