No Words. No numbers.

No words can do justice to T’s strength and beauty. If I ever find them, I’ll hold them close. Please know I’m not being coy here. I’m exhausted, overwhelmed, and really anxious to get back to the hospital. 

No numbers can tell the story of a long labor and challenging birth, but I’ll give you a few anyway:

36 — That’s how many hours she labored. All day. All night under the full moon. All day the next day.

5:01 p.m. Saturday–  our beautiful son was born.

9 lbs. 11.5 oz — yes, he was big, but we never had a doubt she could do it. And ladies, she did it. With strength, humor, determination, and patience, she did it. I adore her beyond measure.

She said to say hello. Birth story and pictures to come.

J

p.s. we may need to change his blogname to tomatohead. When he gets upset, he squishes his face up and turns bright red. Looks just like a tomato. No kidding. It’s adorable.

45 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

45 responses to “No Words. No numbers.

  1. Congratulations!
    I was a 9 1/2 lb baby and, if you listen to my mother, I am perfect and wonderful! So, too, is your son, I am sure!

  2. K

    Congratulations!!!!!! AWESOME!!!

  3. WOW! Congratulations on the safe arrival of your big, beautiful boy!

  4. Raine

    Congratulations. That is great news.

  5. Elsha Quinn

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  6. It sounds like she did an AMAZING job! Welcome to the world tomatohead! I can’t wait to see pictures!

  7. callyourcourage

    congratulations! i’m so happy to here that your son has arrived and everyone is healthy!

  8. N

    Whooohooo! Congratulations!!!

  9. OMG!!! Congratulations!!! He is well worth the wait!

  10. Congratulations!!!!!!! I can’t WAIT to see pictures of him!

  11. J

    Such wonderful news! I am so happy to hear that moms and baby are doing so well!
    Welcomet o the world little tomatohead!

  12. Joy

    Congratulations! I look forward to the birth story and photos!!!

  13. Jude

    CONGRATULATIONS!!

  14. congrats to you all!! can’t wait to hear/see more!

  15. Pingback: Reminders « MotherWilling

  16. B

    YAY!!! Congratulations moms!

  17. A.

    OMG, CONGRATULATIONS to you both!! I’m so happy for you!

  18. WOW! I thought Trucker was big. Tomatohead is a tank!

    Well, Cakie was sitting here while I exclaimed about your amazing birth. I don’t know how much he understood, but he said, “Wow. She’s bigger than a giant. Mommy, spell ‘A humongist baby.'”

    We are all very proud and excited here at chez ohm. Please to send me your street address?

    OOOXXXOOOXXXOOOOOO!!!!

    PS Cakie is requesting a picture of the baby.

  19. BHmama

    I’m sitting here reading this in TEARS!! SO happy for all three of you!!

  20. Cindyhoo2

    Wow 36 hours!!! There is nothing I want to do that long. I am impressed and so glad that T and tomatoehead are doing well! Congrats moms.

  21. Congratulations from me and Lyn! We’re so proud of you and happy for you! Enjoy getting to know your new baby. Hooray!!!

  22. poppycat

    Crying my eyes out here! Congrats mommies and welcome little Egghead! I am so proud of you all.

  23. OH this is such good news. We are so happy for all of you. I can’t wait to see more. xoxo L

  24. wonderful news. congrats on everything going smoothly. i’m sure you guys are just delighted that he is finally here.

  25. Congratulations, you two! T, you are amazing. I’m so glad you’re all healthy and happy. Welcome to the world, little tomato! I can’t wait for pictures!

  26. Of course she did it! So happy for you all.

  27. tbean

    Congratulations! Welcome to the world little man. We’ve been waiting a LONG time for you.

  28. Congrats!!!! I can’t wait to see pictures! Thank you for the update. I have a special appreciation for birthing those LARGE babies! Enjoy every second. 🙂

  29. Yay!!! You are amazing!!!! So proud of you T!!!
    (Welcome to the big boys club by the way….)We are so happy for you and J. Enjoy these moments!!!!!!!!!!!!
    xoxo

  30. my heart is leaping with joy for you. so is my daughter.

  31. T and J congrats to both of you! I am thrilled to hear that Tomotoehead made it out of there thanks to both of you. He will be out of those 0-3 months clothes by tomorrow!
    oxoxoxo

  32. Congratulations! Glad to hear all is well. Can’t wait to see pictures!

  33. Woo and hoo!!!!!!!!!!! Give all of yourselves a hug from me.

  34. Clemency

    Fantastic news! A big relief. Very happy for the two of you and the new arrival….will we get to learn his name soon?
    What a huge baby! Well done.

  35. alimis

    That is absolutely wonderful news ladies. I am so glad to hear that baby and momma are doing great.

  36. Jean

    Way to go mama!!!!! Many would have given up with that large a baby! Can’t wait to hear all teh details and see pics of the new addition. Congratulations.

  37. Congrats on Tomato Egghead! I hope you are all recovering well and I can’t wait to hear the whole story (and see photos??).

  38. way to go, mamas!!!
    welcome to the world tomatohead (tho i like TANK, as per oneofhismoms)…

    your adoring iAunties are so happy you are here on the outside with your awesome beautiful moms, and we cant wait to see your face!

    xoxo,
    aunt gypsy

    PS ~ good job on winning the race to see if i would have a job/take nursing board exam before you made your arrival! what do you win? ohhh lots of electronic hugs and smooches from me, of course!! hehe

  39. Way to go, T and congrats to both moms! I’m so glad to learn that you are all doing well. Big babies are the best!

  40. boo

    Wow! I am super impressed. Congratulations to you both and happy birthday little tomato. I can’t wait to read your birth story. You should feel so proud.

  41. notesfrom2moms

    hes here! hes here! ims smitten already.

Leave a Reply

