37 weeks

We’re at thirty-seven weeks. Egghead is officially full term. While we are still three weeks from our due date, the boy can come at any time, and that’s what we’re telling him today. We’re ready–or nearly so–and it’s simply unbelievable that he’s nearly here.

I’m feeling so much better about dumping the class. I have had time to spend with my wife, time to go on little errands, and time to just sit and read. I’ve done frivolous things! I read The Time Traveler’s Wife (a fantastic novel), and then we went to see it (a terrible movie). We caught up with the new show The Colony, and we’ve even done a little shopping. It feels so good, and while I’m still working at my other job, I don’t have an English 1A-shaped cloud hanging over my head. When I go into labor, my current job goes on hold until I’m ready to come back–and coming back simply means logging onto the computer for a few hours a day whenever I feel like it for as long as I feel like it. Yes, things are getting better.

Today, we’re going to install the carseat into the vehicle we have now affectionately deemed “The Baby Bucket.” The car needs to be retired, but as it’s our only four-door, it’s going to have to do until the car fairy grants us with a new one. We have at least made it safe to drive, and that is what’s important.

Today, we finished writing a one-page birth plan, and I’m going to work on packing my hospital bag. My wife has gotten me some lovely comfort items for birth–some cute little socks, some essential oils for aromatherapeutic purposes, and even some new lipbalm. After the weekend, we’ll chat with the singing doula finally and determine whether she’s going to be a good fit (please, please, please). We also have to talk with our potential pediatrician, get me a hair appointment so our son won’t be terrified upon seeing me for the first time (and because my mom insisted on paying for cut and color for me as an early birthday gift), get the carseat installation inspected, and spend some time with friends. These things are so doable, and I’m enjoying checking them off of our list.

So we’re getting things in order, and it feels good, and I don’t feel so panicked now that 37 weeks has arrived.

15 Comments

Filed under Egghead, the P word

15 responses to “37 weeks

  1. You are totally getting things in order and sound nearly there to me. I don’t think Egghead will mind your hair 😉 So excited for you ladies!

  2. Wow, you’re so close! 🙂 🙂

  3. lyn

    I’m so impressed. Fingers particularly crossed re: singing doula.

  4. CA Bounds

    Yay, 37 weeks! But please little egghead wait til after Saturday to come. :o)

  5. I’m glad you’re less stressed and finding time for some indulgences before your little man makes an appearance.

  6. You sound so zen and I love it!

    I’m sad to hear that The Time Travelers Wife wasn’t a good movie… Was it not good because it didn’t compare to the book or was it just not a good movie… period?

    Your little boy will be here before you know it! I’m looking forward to seeing pictures!

    • reproducinggenius

      It’s one of those books thas has so many layers and so much going on that I think it was challenging to make into a movie. It is so much more than a love story, but the movie only focuses on the love story. As a result, it felt really flat to me. My wife, on the other hand, who read the book several years ago, found the movie pretty good. I say go see it and make up your mind about it–but then read the book. It’s 500 pages of wonderful (and I got through it in a week–it’s that good!). What I wouldn’t do is read the book and immediately watch the movie, which is what I did.

  7. A.

    I’d love to hear more about the singing doula – I hope she’s the right fit! And I’m so glad you’re finding some time to read and relax….the little guy’s right around the corner!

  8. Congratulations on 37 weeks! It makes me so happy to read this update! It sounds like everything is in place for Egghead’s arrival. You sound so ready!

  9. cindyhoo2

    THis must be such an incredible time for you both. So exciting!!

  10. poppycat

    Just beautiful ladies! I am so excited for you!!!

  11. bebebaba

    um, I love that you are getting your hair done for the baby.

  12. alimis

    Congrats on making it to 37 weeks. You are getting so close. Yay!

  13. gypsygrrl

    one word: exciting!!!

  14. Having that time right now to relax, shop, have a great hair cut sounds fabulous. I was going to try to work up until I drop, but now I am realizing that this kind of time is so special and part of the whole having a baby life transition. I am sure Egghead is enjoying it too.

Leave a Reply

