Midwife Appointment

Well, today’s appointment was a little more eventful than I had anticipated. The midwife we had not yet met had discussed last week’s ultrasound with our OB, so when she came in, she told us she had some good news, some pretty good news, and some not-so-good news. I think I knew immediately what that not-so-good news was going to be. She told us that everything looked great with the baby, that I looked healthy, and that my fibroids haven’t grown at all, which meant that were posing less of a risk of interfering with delivery. But then came the not-so-good. The doctor wants us to start thinking about induction because Egghead is so large.

Honestly, I almost laughed.

J and I have been waiting for the OB to throw down her first intervention, and I had a strong sense after finding out how big Egghead is that this would be it. I was honest with the midwife, however, and I told her that I thought we would be fine. I talked about my mom’s history of having big babies and that I just don’t think my body will have an issue with it. Since we had to do the lovely Group B Strep swab today anyway, she told me she’d examine me, check on the fibroid position, Egghead’s position, etc. so that we could approach this with more information.

So we commenced with the exam (the swab was easy), my first internal since my first appointment. She could feel Egghead’s big head, and it has moved down some into my pelvis (she didn’t tell us which station, and I forgot to ask). What she didn’t feel were any fibroids (I knew they were out of the way!), nor did she find a lack of space. In fact, I have been informed that I have a “beautiful pelvis” with plenty of room to pass a big baby. Not only that, but I have a “beautiful cervix.” It apparently is softening nicely, and it’s about 60% effaced. It isn’t yet dilated, but she says it is starting to dilate on the outside. In other words, my body is getting ready. I told her about yesterday’s increased contractions, and she was thrilled (she may have almost clapped) to hear that they included some cramping. Overall, once the exam was complete, she seemed pretty confident that I wouldn’t need to really think about induction unless I go more than a couple of days past my due date. Phew!

So this is where we stand. I don’t think Egghead is coming this week, and I’m going to encourage him to stay put for one week longer so that we can finish up our preparations. After he reaches his 37 week mark, I’ll begin welcoming him, letting him know that it’s okay for him to come when he is ready. We’ll wait a bit longer to proceed with any of our own induction measures, but we’ll be welcoming suggestions as we get closer. The reality that we are soon going to have a baby is finally starting to sink in.

10 Comments

Filed under Egghead, interventions, midwife, OB, the P word

10 responses to “Midwife Appointment

  1. GOOD FOR YOU! That whole “baby is too big” crap drives me crazy! Our bodies are made for this and ultrasounds can totally be off. I have a friend that was told to have a c-section because her baby was going to be close to 10 pounds and there was NO WAY he would fit out of her pelvis. So she did and he was 7 pounds, 12 ounces. Hmph.

    Anyway -it’s SOOOO close! I had Holland at 37w2d!

  2. K

    He will be here soon. So excited!!!! We go for our u/s on Wednesday.

  3. Some people just grow ’em fast! Here’s hoping Egghead makes his appearance in the next couple weeks, no induction needed.

  4. Good for you for holding your ground and trusting your body! I’m so glad things are looking so great for the delivery!

  5. Happy to hear everything is well, and props to you for standing up for yourself!

  6. lyn

    Good job keeping your confidence and holding the line! So wonderful that Egghead is doing great, and my money is on a picture perfect delivery…just to make up for that extra worry about the fibroids.

  7. Well done! I am so glad that things are going well and that you refuse to be frightened needlessly.

  8. poppycat

    I’m really happy that you took such an active roll in your care and said no to the induction. You know your body and if you think it’s fine then that’s what you should do. When/if the time comes to make changes, you will know it.

    I am seriously shocked that your boy is almost here. Shocked! It went so fast and now I can’t wait to meet him!

    Enjoy these last few weeks my lovelies!

  9. Cervical flattery will get you everywhere. 🙂

    This is getting exciting.

  10. I’m SO very proud of you. I cannot tell you how often I heard this while being more involved in the birthing community during my pregnancy. My midwife actually talked to me at length about it when I was overdue. She said that most OB’s would have induced…..and how “routine induction” very often leads to unnecessary interventions. Medical folk seem so eager to induce….but your body isn’t ready!!!

    I will echo Jessie’s comments. Your body is MADE for this!

    A statement my midwife kept telling me (and remember…I had a big boy!!): “Your body will create the PERFECT amount of space you need to birth your baby.” Use that as an affirmation….

    Keep standing up for yourself lady. I’m so proud of you!

    Hoping you both can enjoy these last days and weeks as a couple. I’m just so so excited for you guys. It’s amazing and life changing and everything you ever thought
    it would be and more. I promise.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

