Big Boy

Eight years ago today, my wife and I recited vows to one another and jumped over a broom in front of our dearest friends and family at our commitment ceremony (this is now one of three anniversaries we have). Today, we celebrated by taking a peak at our son.

This afternoon was our ultrasound to check on Egghead’s growth. Now, remember that the OB was worried that since I haven’t yet gained any weight that Egghead may not be growing enough. I believe that Egghead has been having a big laugh since the ultrasound order was written because he is, in fact, a very big boy.

Egghead’s estimated weight at this time is 7 pounds 1 ounce. He is measuring full term and in the 85th percentile. His feet are over seven centimeters long.

BigFoot34weeks

I don’t think we need to worry about my lack of weight gain, for Egghead has clearly found what he needs to be a very, very big boy. The ultrasound tech renamed him Bruiser.

Honestly, this was a great experience. We had a recently graduated high school student with dreams of becoming an x-ray or ultrasound tech observing, so our tech narrated everything from the measurements of Egghead’s cerebellum to her discussion of the cord, the amniotic fluid levels (which are very good), and more. It was so educational, and it didn’t hurt that the u/s tech was sassy as can be.

Along with measuring Egghead, she took a look at my fibroids, and I got to see the things that have caused me so much angst. One is way up at the top of my uterus, and another is closer to the bottom but off to one side. That one is the big one, the one that was measuring 7cm. Since then it has shrunk to 6.5cm, and it is nowhere near my cervix or the baby’s head. She showed me the nice clear area all around the cervix, and our son’s head nearby. She didn’t see anything blocking his exit, and nor did we.

I can hardly begin to relate just how relieved I am.

I have been preparing myself for the worst since we learned of these fibroids. I have had so much anxiety that somehow any dreams I ever had of anything resembling the birth I wanted were shot. Now, I feel the weight of all of that fear lifted, and I feel free to prepare myself for the hard work of labor and delivery. I’m firmly aware that things can still go wrong, but I’ve got hope that they won’t, hope that I may get a little slice of that birth I wanted after all. I think I’m going to be delivering a nearly ten pound baby boy vaginally, and I couldn’t be happier.

She gave us a couple of additional photos. In one, she wanted to show the student Egghead’s penis, but he was only willing to show his scrotum (complete with two testicles). I had asked J what she would do if we suddenly found out our boy was a girl, so after relating that story to the tech, she printed us this:

StillABoy34weeks

And, finally, she did get Egghead to cooperate and show us a profile. J and I noticed he appears to be pursing his lips–that or the child has a giant overbite. Either way, he’s our beautiful Egghead:

Profile34weeks

And last, so that you can get the big picture, here’s my 34w5d belly shot:

34w5d

14 Comments

Filed under anniversary, anxiety, belly, Egghead

14 responses to “Big Boy

  1. A.

    I’m just so thrilled for you both, especially that you’re feeling some relief now that you’ve learned that the fibroids won’t be a problem. You’re going to have a perfectly healthy delivery, and son!

    He’s truly beautiful – love the little foot!

  2. You and the baby look great. I can’t believe how big he is! When Miles arrived, he was constantly sucking his lower lip in…much like it seems your baby is doing in the picture. They just tend to do that and it’s very cute on the outside 😉

  3. Cindyhoo2

    He he 7lbs1oz… I think egghead is doing just fine with nutrition and such 🙂 it must be so nice to keep getting one round of good news followed by more at this point in your pg. I love these updates lately.

  4. Such great news! He certainly IS a big boy! Well done!

  5. happy anniversary ~ what a lovely way to spend it, getting to see your big boy!!!

  6. Holy crap he’s a big boy! I hope everything goes perfectly for your delivery, you are a very brave woman!!!! 🙂

  7. congrats on the healthy baby boy..hes a beauty. i’m sure your ready to not be pregnant anymore. my dp is 25 weeks and so ready for her old body back.

  8. K

    OMG!! I love the picture of the foot. You definitely have a big boy in there and I’m sure he can’t wait to come and meet his mommies!

    We are so close with time frames. Your message on our board was refreshing, but so many emotions right now and sometimes I feel guilty for feeling impatient instead of plain grateful.

  9. poppycat

    That boy is big! You sure know how to grow them mama! He looks amazing and it sounds like he’s ready to make his appearance any time now. I don’t want to scare you but I my friend’s baby was similar to Egghead, always measuring ahead and big, he came into the world four weeks early and completely baked. He arrived at 7lbs 13oz fully developed with no problems at all. The doctors said he looked like an average 40 weeker and that if he had stayed 3 more weeks he may not have made it out vaginally because he would have been so big. Maybe your boy will make his entrance a bit early too?

    Glad to hear the fibroids are not going to be as big a concern as you feared. That’s great!

  10. Wow, he IS a big boy! Glad that everything’s going well for you!

  11. Jodi

    Poppy: my brain is starting to wonder if we shouldn’t be ready for this baby to come early for the exact reason you discuss. I figure he’ll run out of room and that’ll be that. I don’t think we really have five weeks of pregnancy left, but don’t let T hear me say that.

  12. reproducinggenius

    Well, they say our first children are similar to those of our mothers, and all of my mom’s babies were not only late but big. I think we’re in this ’til the end. But then, I have been known to break with tradition from time to time. Only time will tell. Perhaps I should start a pool now.

  13. Amy

    that is great news that Egghead is growing very well and getting everything he needs :] You are so close! how exciting

  14. jay

    excellent news all round! happy anniversary! xx

Leave a Reply

