August Showers

I just received one of my weekly pregnancy update emails–for week 35. I went into a full blown panic. I am freaking the fuck out. This means I’m two weeks away from full term, five weeks away from our due date. Time can’t possibly have slipped by this quickly. Everyone says that the last month goes by so slowly, but I have yet to experience that slowing. I’m waiting for it, but so far, each day zips by, and before I know it, I’m brushing my teeth, snuggling up to my body pillow, and reading myself to sleep.

We are almost ready physically, but there is one major issue: our car situation. We have a ten-year-old Toyota Corolla with a dead battery, which also is pretty close to needing new brakes and new belts. This is our four-door car. The car we get around in most is a two-door Celica. We have not tried to fit a car seat into the back of it, but we are nearly certain that it would be an impossible feat. So, we have to somehow get this Corolla into working order in the next couple of weeks because, well, a new or even used car is not in our near future. I am more than a little nervous about this, but somehow, we’re going to work it out.

We do, however, finally have a good supply of diapers! This weekend, we attended our family baby shower, which my mom and sister threw for us. It was held at my parents’ house in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, and it was lovely. The shower was outdoors, and was attended by my grandmothers, an aunt, and a few cousins (as well as my mom and sister). They planned a sort of garden party theme with huge bunches of lavender as well as lots of pots of bedding flowers for decoration.

At our last shower, we requested no games or goofy shower activities, but my mother and sister insisted that this is how baby showers are thrown, so we gave them free reign. Before the guests arrived, J and I were given “Mommy-to-Be” Miss America sashes in pink, and we sat in our thrones whilst games were played.

huge but happy

huge but happy

My two grandmothers–both in their eighties–teamed up for several games and were the most competitive. It was rather amusing to see my 88-year-old grandma flaunting her 500 points she won in Nursery Rhyme Jeopardy. They were quite cute, and my mom and sister did a good job of limiting the games to just a few fun, interactive things. There was no baby food sampling, no diaper racing–just some trivia, some belly girth guessing, and a couple of others that I can’t recall. The prizes were the bedding plants that had been acting as decor. I loved that, and I especially loved that we got to come home with the leftovers–probably eight different pots of petunias, impatiens, and more. A little container gardening should go a long way toward calming me down.

The gifts were plentiful, and it was great fun to see what people did. We requested at both showers that people wrap their gifts minimally or with used materials, and we urged people to find gently used items when they could instead of buying new. While some went straight to their local C.arter’s outlet and picked up tons of cute clothes, others really took our requests to heart and spent some time finding great baby consignment shops. One aunt who couldn’t attend gave us two bags full of gently used toys, books, and clothes. She embroidered a new onesie with “My mommies love me.” This was, perhaps, one of our favorite gifts. My sister had suggested that people bring books instead of cards, so we got some fantastic books, one batch of which had been my books as a child (things like this are rare in my family because my parents’ home burnt down when I was in my twenties).

P8010190

My sister and mom also compiled a gift for J–a labor coach’s bag, complete with ridiculous bullhorn and pompoms (along with many useful things such as snacks, toiletries, etc.).

P8010196

Of greatest note, however, was the cloth diaper cake my sister built:

IMG_2647

Not only were there three dozen cloth diapers in this thing, but also lots of toys, washcloths, burp cloths, receiving blankets, and more that I can’t recall. She also made a diaper wreath out of disposables (which will be good to have on hand early on), complete with a dangling pair of baby Con.verse, bath supplies, socks, and more. The girl was super creative!

We were positively overwhelmed with the gifts, and we’ve finally almost gotten them put away. We have been washing clothes and diapers, organizing everything, and finding even more space in this room of our son’s. Today, we even put together his hospital bag, complete with coming home outfit (and a backup). As I said, the physical things really are coming together. I just don’t know if Egghead’s moms are ready.

This afternoon, we have an ultrasound, so we’ll be sure to post photos and updates later today or tomorrow. I’ll also spend some time addressing Cindy’s questions from our last post. If anyone has other questions, feel free to send them along. I rather like the distraction!

12 Comments

Filed under panic, showers, the P word

12 responses to “August Showers

  1. Cousin

    So sad I missed the shower, looks like it was fun!

    • reproducinggenius

      We definitely missed you but understood as well. I do think you would have enjoyed Grammy and my other Grandma and their little competitive streak with the “youngsters.” Too funny.

  2. A.

    What a beautiful shower…everything sounds like it was lovely, from the decor to the people who attended. I’m so happy for you!

    As for your quickly approaching due date, I know you’re going to be fine. You’ve done all of the studying, you’re in great health, and your little one will be with you soon.

    xo

  3. nutella

    What great gifts, glad you had fun. And don’t you look great?!

  4. N

    That sounds so, so fantastic.

  5. you look awesome!!! looks like a kick ass fun party-looooooove the cloth diaper cake!

  6. I heart competitive party game grannies and I triple dog heart labor bags with pom poms. Awesome.

  7. Cindyhoo2

    What a beautiful shower. I am glad that you humored your mom with some shower games. And what great stuff you are getting.

    35 weeks, it just doesn’t seem like you have been pregnant that long. 🙂

  8. That sounds like a really lovely shower. We didn’t get the car seat installed until week 38 so don’t feel too bad 😉 Can’t wait to see more Egghead…and on the outside soon!

  9. You have an awesome family! What a beautiful shower! Oh, and your request for gently used items was a great idea. I love your sister’s idea for books instead of cards 🙂

  10. K

    Your posting was great because we are feeling so many similar things. It is right around the corner and I think the anticipation is much worse than the event. Our miracles will be here soon.

  11. poppycat

    What a great shower and I really love the idea of books instead of cards. Now you just have to find room for all that loot!

Leave a Reply

