34 week update and OB appointment

Amidst all of yesterday’s madness, we had an OB appointment. Originally, we were going to meet the last of the three midwives in the practice, but I had to reschedule, so we decided to see our OB. Honestly, I’m glad we did. We wanted to check in with her at least once before Egghead’s arrival, so it worked out well.

It was one of those days when the entire practice was running late, so we had to wait an eternity in the waiting room and then another eternity in the exam room, and if you’d like to know a little secret about my wife, she’s not so good at waiting. Still, we were able to amuse ourselves with photos of babies on the wall.

When the doc did finally arrive, she asked how I felt about my weight gain (or lack thereof). I told here I felt okay about it, that it seemed the baby was taking it all since everything but my belly appears to be shrinking. She thought that was likely as well. When she checked my fundal height, it was right on track at 34 weeks. This is the first time it has been on track for a couple of months though–he’s been measuring two weeks ahead. In my estimation, there are a couple of things that may have caused this: a slight difference in how the two practitioners measure or a difference in Egghead’s position (last appointment, he was bulging out of my upper abdomen, and this time he was settled in down low). There is, of course, the more obvious possibility that his growth is evening out. Whatever it is, the doc decided it would be a good time to order a new ultrasound–not there in the office, but at the big ultrasound place where they make me drink lots of water.

So, we’ll get to see our Egghead again this next Tuesday. They’ll take measurements and take a look at the fibroids too. The doctor is being very positive about the fibroids at this point, stating that she doesn’t think they’ll be a problem. I told her that’s what I felt too and that it was helpful to me to think positively about it. We’ve come a long way since the big fibroid reveal a few months ago, and I’m glad for that.

So this is where we stand. Both my health and that of Mr. Egghead seem to be great, and we’ll find out a little more on Tuesday. We’re both honestly quite excited to see him again. It’s been fourteen weeks!

This weekend, we’re making our last trek out of town to go to my parents’ house. My sister and mom are throwing us a family shower, and we’ll get to relax and soak in some quiet while we’re there. Once we come back, though, we’re staying. No more trips. It’s time to settle in, get our nest on, and wait for this baby to come.

Today marks 34 weeks. I can’t believe we’re just six weeks away from our due date. Generally, I’m feeling pretty good. I am still getting several swims in each week, and I feel best when I’m in the water. In fact, I feel almost normal–it’s a strange sensation. Normally, though, I feel heavy and big, and every once in awhile, I waddle a little. My hips hurt most of the time, and my pubic bone pain now causes me to have to sit down to put my pants on because otherwise, it hurts too bad. All of this, we’re told, is normal, that my body is just stretching and stretching for the big day. Luckily, I still sleep rather well. The body pillow has returned, and most nights I wrestle with it until it ends up on the floor. For the most part, though, 34 weeks is not so bad. Yes, I’m ready to have the agility, speed, and comfort of my prepregnant body (I realize this is a naive dream), but I’m also trying to soak up every last moment of this pregnancy, making the most of even the less comfortable situations. I can already tell I’m going to miss it.

8 Comments

Filed under Egghead, OB, showers, the P word

8 responses to “34 week update and OB appointment

  1. Sounds like things are going really well! That’s so exciting you get another ultrasound before Egghead comes in to the world.
    I understand you with the swimming. I just started a few weeks ago and it’s one of my favorite things! So nice you are able to do this!
    Have a great shower and trip with you family.

  2. A.

    Congrats on continuing to do so well. 34 weeks already?? Where did the time go?

    Please post pics of the u/s – can’t wait to see how Egghead has developed.

  3. K

    Wow — it’s coming up so fast!!!! Rest now – you’ll need to store it all up! 🙂

    Can’t wait to “meet” Egghead 🙂

  4. poppycat

    I am having a really hard time wrapping my brain around the fact that your baby is almost totally baked. Wow that went fast! You have been quite the fertility/pregnancy goddess and I’m sure you will be no less than a mother goddess once he arrives.

    • reproducinggenius

      Poppy, I can’t wrap my brain around it either. It just can’t possibly be this close to the end. And thank you.

  5. poppycat

    PS – Love the new header and I can’t wait to see new baby pics.

  6. Cindyhoo2

    Congrats on the fantastic visit! I think it is incredibly sweet that you will miss being pregnant. It is hard to believe that in a little over a month, you will be able to post honest-to-goodness regular photos of egghead. I am so excited to ‘meet’ him. I bet you are even more excited to see and hold the little guy!

    Ok questions: what are you both 1- most excited about and 2- most worried about (in terms of actually being moms to egghead).

  7. First….Man….34 weeks already?? I can’t believe it!!! I am dying to meet this child!

    Second…I’m sorry about the whole DADDY CLASS….but glad you guys are getting a private class and won’t have to deal with the other folks that night….it seems like she really did want to try to understand and help you guys in the end…which is awesome.

    Third….I loved how you said you would miss being pregnant. Do you remember how big I was? Do you remember how *over* I was being pregnant and how I couldn’t wait a second longer to have my boy?? Well, all that was true….but realize now that I *do* miss being preggo. It is such an amazing thing…..enjoy the last few weeks….I felt like they went by slowly, but in actuality, they flew. There is nothing cooler than feeling your child move inside your belly, kick you, and hiccup. The hiccups were happening like crazy in the end. You learn his schedule…when he is awake and when he is sleeping…..Awh….typing all that out makes me miss it even more.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

