31 weeks

I can’t believe that we’re really in the last ten weeks (or so) of this pregnancy. Where on earth has the time gone? What happened to the days of J and I staring at pictures of little embryos that looked more like seahorses than humans? I’m in quite a bit of shock.

The last couple of weeks have begun to show me my physical limitations, and I’m feeling a little whiny. I apologize ahead of time.

 Yesterday, working to take a desk apart and straining a bit too much to loosen screws resulted in a day of more braxton hicks contractions than I would like to have. It didn’t help that Egghead was also particularly curious and active. My belly was already so tight most of the day, and he would stick his head or a knee or his butt out–so uncomfortable. It was admittedly a little amusing to see my belly change shape so much, but I was utterly exhausted by the end of the day. A bath finally relaxed my abdominal muscles, but it was a little frightening to be thrown into such a state of exhaustion by a task that normally I would think nothing of.

Walking, too, has become more of a chore. I have had bad hips for a long time, but pregnancy has shown me a new degree of hip pain, and when I walk for long periods of time, they kill me. When I sleep in a bed that is not my own, they are even worse. On top of it all, I’ve now got this lovely pubic bone pain, and I feel about eighty-years-old half the time. Yes, I’m starting to be a mess.

Unfortunately, my exhaustion takes its toll on both of us. I’m a lot less pleasant to my wife, and she has to pick up a lot more slack around the house (The woman deserves a weekend at some fabulous beach resort where she’ll be pampered day and night. If only I could give that to her.) By 10:00 most nights, we’re in bed, reading one or two pages before we both pass out. I knew I’d get here eventually, but I’m now sad to say, I miss my pre-pregnancy body–or at least the body that wasn’t in pain 75% of the day. I’m definitely beginning to feel the third trimester, and it scares me that on some days, it’s already kicking my ass.

Luckily, we do have the pool, and I take advantage of the weightlessness of that space as often as I can. It’s wonderful to step into that water and to feel like I can move normally again. I swim a few laps and generally try to keep moving for a good amount of time, and it’s dreamy. Of course, as soon as I get out, I’m gravity’s victim once again, but it’s lovely while it lasts.

We have a few big events coming up soon. Next week, I’ll be officiating the wedding of some dear friends. Originally, we were to stay at their house one night and at a hotel another, but I think we’ve decided on the hotel for both nights. This means I’ll get to sleep when I need to, take as many middle-of-the-night bathroom trips as I need (I think six is my record thus far), and just generally feel a little more comfortable. Two weeks after that is our last trip of the pregnancy. We’re going to my mom’s for a shower she and my sister are throwing. We’ll be there for a couple of nights and then back home to our comfy bed and easy-to-access restroom.

Tomorrow is also a big day. My mom and step-dad are coming to help us convert our office/guest room into our office/nursery (hence the need to take apart the desk–so that we can move it). They will help us assemble the crib, move furniture, and generally keep me from harming myself. We’re beyond excited to finally get to do this. And, yes, pictures will follow.

And so I leave you with a long overdue belly shot. Here I am at 31 weeks. J says my belly does not look as big as it does in person, but I think you can get the idea.

IMG_2607

11 Comments

Filed under Egghead, nesting, the P word

11 responses to “31 weeks

  1. cindyhoo2

    You are definitely in 3rd trimester form. You look lovely but I do imagine, you are miserable most of the time. Enjoy your water-time and feel free to tell us like it really is. making a baby is hard work!

  2. K

    Things are the same over here. K is growing more and more tired. Back pain is her current joy and we are learning that doing more than 1 thing each day is way too much:) 9 more weeks:)

  3. gypsygrrl

    fabulous belly 🙂
    sending you sympathy for the acheyness…because of the wt-loss, i have lowback pain from the hanging skin and your description of how wondering being in a pool is eased the backache a little just imagining it (must get back to swim class)

    cant believe you are 31wks either.
    i am done RN program in 6wks. and just think…you might have your baby by then!

    hugs all around…

  4. gypsygrrl

    sorry for the ramblyness in the previous comment.

  5. Hang in there! Those last couple months were rough for me too, with the last couple weeks being absolute torture. Hopefully you will not go so far overdue as I did. What a lovely baby belly you have!

    o

  6. Your belly looks wonderful! All the difficult 3rd trimester stuff will be a distant memory once you have your little boy in your arms. Good luck in the weeks to come and hang in there!

  7. Your belly is super cute. My mom’s pool has ben a life-saver for me too. It’s a terrible reality shock when I have to haul my ass back out. I’m hoping the last few weeks fly by, they are definately the hardest.

  8. callyourcourage

    please don’t feel the need to apologize – i’ve never been pregnant and really value the telling-it-like-it-is tidbits. i’ve been reading for a little-longish while (since before you were pregnant), but i’m not so great on the commenting. i grew up in arcata and am moving back this fall to go to grad school at hsu – it was a small-world moment when you mentioned having lived in humboldt county 🙂

  9. poppycat

    I’m sorry those aches and pains are such a big part of your life right now. The pool sounds like a blessing and I’m glad you have easy access to it. Take it easy T and try not to over do it. You’re lucky to have the extra help from your family right now so take advantage of it.

    Can’t wait to see some nursery pics. Your belly pic is just divine!

  10. I’m sorry for gravity and all the evils it produces. The belly looks great, as always!

  11. I’m so looking forward to seeing nursery shots!!!
    Your belly is lovely girl!

    Can.not.believe.you’re.31.weeks.
    CAN.NOT!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

