of appointments and showers and joy

I suppose I have let you all enjoy the peak into our bedroom long enough. It’s time I’m a responsible blogger again and start updating on what has happened in the past week–because it’s quite a lot!

Today we had a midwife appointment. It was the first of our every-two-week appointments (although this one was after three weeks in order to get us on even numbers). This week marks thirty weeks for us. Thirty. 30. Holy shit.

The appointment went pretty well. My weight once again was the same as it was when I got pregnant, and my blood pressure was 120/80 where it has been since appointment 2. I’m consistent if nothing else! Egghead is still measuring two weeks ahead at 32 weeks, and his heartbeat was around 140. He’s growing and healthy and everyone was pleased. We did have to discuss the fibroid issue with the midwife. She had spoken with our OB about it, and it seems that they are indeed located at the bottom of my uterus where they could cause problems during birth. That said, they are located toward the back of my uterus, so she and the doctor aren’t overly concerned and they both think it’s a matter of waiting until I’m in labor to see what happens. She doesn’t see a need to worry, so I’m working to tell myself the same. That’s a little easier said than done, but now I’m just trying to prepare myself for whatever sort of birth comes our way. Reading Birthing From Within is making that a little easier.

The bigger excitement happened last weekend, when J and I took a five-hour road trip up the coast to Humboldt where some friends of us threw us our first shower. What a fantastic weekend it was. We stayed with two of our very dearest friends, and we spent the whole first evening sitting around chatting, eating great food, and simply relaxing outside.

The next day was the shower. Since  it was being held at the home where we were staying, we left for a few hours to attend the local farmer’s market that we used to love so much, and we met up with a friend, his eight-month pregnant wife, and their two-year-old son. It was great to see them and especially good to talk with the friend’s wife who had had complications with fibroids during her first pregnancy (but also ended up having a natural birth). It was so nice to discuss this with someone who had been there, but it was especially good to see old friends in this environment.

When we left the market, we returned to our friends’ place where the shower was about to begin. While we were gone, our two hostess friends had prepared a huge brunch and had decorated with tons of flowers and candles.

FoodandFlowers

In just moments, people started to arrive. We haven’t returned to Humboldt since we left in February of 2008, and while a few of these women have come to visit us, most of them we haven’t seen since before we left. What a joy it was to see each one of them as they walked in. They positively doted on us, and my heart was so full, I thought it would surely burst. I have been very happy since I’ve been pregnant, but this made me positively buoyant.

TNicoletteErinBarb

Brunch was had, and one of the co-hostesses, our friend A, gathered the beads she had asked everyone to bring and announced that I was to make a necklace of sorts to focus on for labor. I admittedly have not yet made it, but it’s going to be this wonderfully eclectic string of beads that should help keep these lovely women with me. She also announced a writing assignment (since 99% of us are writing teachers), asking everyone to write us advice or great things they remember about their own moms. Reading through this box of missives later made me burst into frequent bouts of tears.

Writing

Later I was surprised with belly henna. All of the women there took turns painting a design or embellishment on my belly. This was my favorite part of the day, for I got one-on-one time with each of my friends.

BellyPaints

By the time the belly was complete, it was quite a masterpiece!

FinishedBelly

My wife added the final touch–the only text way at the bottom:

HeadDown

Sadly, the henna didn’t take well because of a mix-up in directions, but it was lovely to have this done and to spend this time with so many lovely people.

The gift-opening time was great as well. People were so very generous, but they also followed our requests to rely a little more on gently used items. This was fabulous because so many of them are moms and were able to pass on things from their kids (one woman gave us some baby clothes from her 20-year-old son!) as well as from their own supplies. One friend who had been gifted a Kate Spade bag when she was pregnant passed it along to us. Honestly, we could care less about labels (and nor could she), so we’re finding it hilarious to have this over-priced simple black diaper bag. We’ll certainly fit in amongst the label-conscious tourists in our current town.

In all, this was the best of days and the best of getaways. Our friends all seem so genuinely happy for us, and we were so excited to have them there to celebrate the coming of Egghead. There is nothing quite like being filled with the love and generosity of friends.

HappyTandJ

13 Comments

Filed under Egghead, friends, home, midwife, showers

13 responses to “of appointments and showers and joy

  1. reproducinggenius

    It was everything we could have wanted and more!

    Quick correction, though: we left Humboldt in Feb ’08, not ’07, my dear pregnant-brained wife. Do you need me to start proofreading your blog?

  2. (are you talking to yourself up there in the comments? :))

    what an amazing AMAZING experience. that shower was perfect. i teared up a little myself. goodness.

    you are so beautiful!

  3. The day sounds absolutely lovely and I adore that your pals made the baby shower more personal than the usual sit-in-a-pastel-bedecked-public-space-play-mindless-games and oogle consumerism for babies. Love the henna, love the personal notes and you look really happy.

  4. how fun! your belly looks great!

  5. the baby shower sounds like one of the nicest i have ever heard of or attended, and your friends seems to know you both well and it was a pleasure reading of your gently-used acquisitions (and i was so happy that they respected your wishes ~ here in my world, family rarely does that LOL)

    the belly henna was adorable 🙂
    and i love the idea of the beads and the little notes of advice or memories for you…just the thought of your friends’ sweet words made me tear up a little.

    lastly – you both look gorgeous!!!
    xo,
    gypsy

  6. jay

    ahhhhh sooooo lovely!!! sniff!

  7. nutella

    Sounds like a truly wonderful celebration. You look radient.

  8. A.

    First, congratulations on staying so healthy during your pregnancy! Your shower looks like it was so much fun, and what a wonderful opportunity to spend time with old friends. I loved the henna idea.

    You look wonderful!

  9. Joy

    What a lovely shower! The henna was beautiful and you looked so happy!

  10. That sounds so wonderful! Thanks for sharing the pictures.

  11. poppycat

    Absolutely the sweetest post. How lovely and I love your friends for being creative but not silly about the shower activities. Do you think they would mind throwing me a shower someday?

  12. Sounds like a fabulous shower and I love the labor necklace idea. What a great way to hold the love of your friends while egghead is born. I also really loved Birthing from Within. Have you read Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth? Those were the two books that were most helpful to me.

Leave a Reply

