belly love

As my belly expands, I’m definitely starting to experience a good deal of belly love. I always assumed I’d be sort of a “hands off!” pregnant woman, but now that I’m pregnant (and really showing), I have to admit that I’m enjoying allowing others to touch my belly.

Lately, when we sleep, my wife has her hand on my belly for about half of the night. It feels so comforting, and the three of us are intimately connected in those moments. This past week, she has put me to sleep on more than one occasion just rubbing  my belly. Then I’m awakened by a sharp jab from Egghead who has woken up from the attention from his Mama. This brings me endless joy.

My cat Cleo, who at the beginning of this pregnancy was my protector, now needs her nightly dose of belly. She used to crawl up on me, but now she seems to know that she can’t, so she lays on my leg, rubbing my belly with her head like she’s found some catnip.

img_2402

 It’s fantastic. Every night after doing this for half an hour or so, though, she jumps down abruptly as though she has suddenly figured something out. It’s strange, but quite amusing.

J and I find ourselves inviting people to touch my belly. She’ll say to people, “You can touch it!” And they will. I’m glad she acts as my gatekeeper–or belly keeper, if you will. So far these are friends, but even a waitress engaged in the belly love recently, and oddly enough, I didn’t mind at all.

For some reason, now that I’m pregnant, I feel open about it. Yes, I do feel protective of our little boy, but at the same time, I know how special a pregnant belly feels; I know how I’ve always felt blessed to be allowed to touch my friends’ pregnant bellies. I suppose I want to share that with those who want to share it. Now, I’m not going around forcing unsuspecting strangers to fondle my midsection–that would be all kinds of bizarre–but I can’t not share this with those who want to be a part of it. It feels good that somehow I’m able to be this open when I can typically be a rather guarded person. All of these pats and rubs feel a little bit like blessings for our son, and we will take all of the blessings we can get.

And the belly love continues from the inside. As our boy grows (wow, it still feels really strange and wonderful to write “boy”), he is kicking and jabbing and moving so much more. This past week, I have enjoyed many moments of just sitting and feeling him move. Yesterday, I think he had hiccups, and it made me giggle.

I guess what I’m saying is that through all of this, I am finally really enjoying this pregnancy. I’m letting go of much of the overwhelming fear that accompanied me through each of the first few months, and I’m settling in. It feels really good.

13 Comments

Filed under belly, Egghead, sharing, the P word

13 responses to “belly love

  1. A.

    I love the picture!!

    It’s wonderful that you’re embracing the pregnancy, and that the three of you are getting so much quality time together.

  2. Aww, I love the kitty/belly love. That’s so wonderful that you’re feeling good and getting over some of the fear!

  3. That is fantastic! I so can’t wait to experience that for myself!

  4. poppycat

    I am so happy that you are so happy and thrilled that things are wonderful for the three of you.

  5. Belly love is so good right. Our kitties like my belly too… I think sometimes they are suspecting something is going on in there. I am happy you are feeling less fear.

  6. cindyhoo2

    This post made me tear up. It is so filled with hope and joy and somehow that is infectous. Thanks for sharing your little guy with us all.

  7. I’m glad you’re feeling so good and so excited -that’s the way it should be! (Do as I say, not as I do 🙂 )

  8. I love when people touch my belly. I have one friend that I work with that will invariably touch my belly and say “Hi baby” every morning. You’ll have to let me know how to let go of the fear though since I am still holding it close these days…

  9. The people we’re around are so timid about belly touching, it’s funny. When I do ask them “do you want to feel?”, then they’ll put their hand on the belly. They like to wait for an invitation 🙂 Yay for Egghead jabs!

  10. i love this post for a million reasons…i always feel privileged when friends let me touch their pregnant belly ~ and i still remember my sisters pressing my hand to her belly while my nephew kicked.

    sending you all love…
    xo,
    gypsy

  11. That’s awesome you are in a place now where you are embracing the pregnancy and free of the fear! Must be amazing!

  12. K

    I too loved sharing my belly with friends and family. All of that movement was just too exciting! I couldn’t keep it to myself! 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re in a sweet spot of pregnancy. Soak it up!

Leave a Reply

