one of life’s little surprises

Egghead, the boy.
Egghead, the boy.

My wife and I learned today that we are going to have a son. A son! Our 20-week ultrasound was today, and it was amazing, every second of it.

For these things, they want you to have a very full bladder. I had to drink 32 ounces of water an hour before my appointment, and by the time I arrived, I was more than a little uncomfortable. When the ultrasound tech asked if I had had plenty of water, I nodded, grimacing, and she knew she had to hurry. Apparently, the full bladder is only necessary for the cervix check, so she made this measurement and sent me to the restroom, after which I was able to return and enjoy myself.

J and I sat while she made measurements of Egghead’s body parts, organs, and the like. She narrated from time to time, letting us know the baby is measuring at 20w4d and that he’s already 15 ounces! Everything looked great: his heart, his brain, his stomach–all of it looked great to her (although she reminded us that it’s our doctor’s job to analyze the data). Then we got to look at the monitor, and almost immediately, little Egghead was on teh screen waving at us. She gave us the tour of his anatomy: his lovely perfect spine, his heart and its four chambers, his hands and feet, and then came the reveal of the sex.

When she maneuvered the wand to see between his legs, I saw it almost instantly, and she announced to us that we’re going to have a boy. J, as sure as she was about having a girl, burst out laughing (and I did too). It was shocking and perfect all at once, and we both found ourselves crying.

When we left, we stopped by the Life.Is.Good shop and picked up a little blue pair of pants and a blue and orange monkey blanket for our little boy, our son. We both cried off and on during the drive home, and now that we’re home, we just keep looking at each other in amazement saying “Wow. Oh my god. Wow.” Very articulate, I know.

But we are so very happy. We’re going to have a son. I have a little boy–with a penis–growing and kicking and waving inside of me. It’s just wild. We’re loving using the male pronoun, though, loving calling him by his name, loving re-imagining our lives as the mothers of a boy. What a great adventure this is going to be.

Below are a few other shots from the ultrasound. She couldn’t get him to give us a profile shot, so we have weird face shots, but the hand and foot are both pretty cool:

face11
Here is his face and a bit of his body.
foot11
Here is a three-centimeter foot.
hand1
And a hand. The ultrasound tech assures us he has a thumb as well on this hand, but he was not willing to show it and his fingers at the same time. He’s stubborn like his moms.
22 Comments

Filed under Egghead, our boy

22 responses to “one of life’s little surprises

  1. congratulations! i knew i was right when you wrote about his mellow heart rate. he’s beautiful.

    x

  2. Erin

    hooray!!! congratulations! 🙂

  3. How exciting! Congratulations.

  4. J

    A boy! How wonderful! Congrats Mamas!

  5. luckylittle13

    OMG! Definitely a boy! Congratulations!

  6. what a cute little dingaling!

    congrats!

  7. cindyhoo2

    how cool. it seems more real now that we can call egghead a “he.” His ultrasound is fantastic.

  8. B

    A boy!!!! I’m so excited for you guys. Congratulations!!

  9. Congratulations! Wow, it seems like absolutely everyone is having a boy these days.

  10. Congratulations on a healthy little boy! It must be so incredible to be able to refer to him with appropriate pronoun and by name.

  11. jay

    that’s cool!! boys rawk.

  12. Welcome to the Mamas-of-boys club! They are awesome! I can’t imagine not having a boy!!! I remember so clearly the day we found out that we were having a boy, we were also surprised and overwhelmed. It is so amazing! I’m all teary reading our post.

  13. A.

    Ladies, I’m so happy for you! I laughed out loud when you wrote “I have a little boy – with a penis…” It’s such great news.

  14. nutella

    Hurray for little boys! And what amazing pix you’ve got there!

  15. Horray for a stubborn boy like his moms. I am really happy for you guys.

  16. poppycat

    Can’t mistake that picture as a girl for sure!!! I am thrilled for you and your little man. Congrats mommies!

  17. Congratulations mommies!

  18. Amy

    YAY another boy to add to the blogger family! So happy for you ladies! It is so amazing hearing that everything is a-ok and knowing the sex of the baby.

  19. so excited for you both!!!

  20. Someday I’m going to find his prom date and show her (or him) the link to this post. Ha!

    Congratulations to both of you. I love to extremes both of my crazy boys.

  21. alimis

    Yay for boys! Congrats ladies.

  22. R

    YEAHHHHH!! CONGRATS!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

