moving right along

The OB appointment today was uneventful, and when I say uneventful, I mean that I sat in a crowded waiting room for half an hour to be seen for three minutes by my OB. Lovely.

The nurse handed me a huge handful of co.lace for my next bout with the back-ups, and she was a little surprised to see that I had lost three pounds since my last visit. I’m eating constantly, and I’m eating really well, so there’s no concern.

The OB checked fundal height, which is right on target (almost to my belly button, which is shallower by the day), and Egghead’s heartbeat was easy to find this time. It was at 130, which I thought was a bit slow, but then my heart rate has always been on the slow side. According to the doctor, it’s just right.

And that was that. Next appointment: four weeks. Except that I’m now thinking that will be the last one with the OB. I’m tired of feeling like I’m on some sort of medical assembly line. Should everything work out with Medi-Cal, we’ll be on to the birth center and the midwives before we know it. I’m hoping to make an appointment with them soon for information and a tour. I’m so ready for a shift in the type of care we receive–so, so ready.

7 Comments

Filed under Egghead, OB, the P word

7 responses to “moving right along

  1. i totally vote that you’re having a boy.

  2. I really love our birth center, I can’t wait to hear what you think!

  3. Well, at this point uneventful is good. Here’s to getting your new insurance soon so you can switch to the care you prefer!

  4. Amy

    sounds like a good visit to me! let us know how the birthing center goes

  5. Oooh! Best wishes getting thee to the birthing center!

  6. I can’t wait until you guys get to the birth center. Are you guys thinking to find out what is between your baby’s legs in a couple of weeks??

    • reproducinggenius

      Yes, we’re definitely going to find out. In fact, by this time next week, we’ll have a gender-specific pronoun to use. We’re a little bit beside ourselves with excitement.

Leave a Reply

