so. very. sleepy.

This is really about nothing. It’s not interesting. It’s my means of procrastinating because I’m tired of bad student essays.

  • My wife is away getting massaged, and I am trying to finish up my last hour of work for the day. I love working from home, but the temptation to just lie down and sleep through it all is often far too tempting. I want a nap more than anything right now.
  • I get to have a massage on Friday. When we moved here, an old internet friend of ours who lives in this town, and whom we had met once in person, found us through our wedding photo in the paper. When we reconnected, we were reminded that she is a massage therapist and energy worker, and she gave us these coupons for free massages months ago. This week, we’re finally cashing them in. I can’t wait. Granted, some things won’t be quite the same (i.e. I won’t be able to lie on my belly), but she promises we’ll work around that. I love having friends in these sorts of professions.
  • I am finally mostly over my cold. I ended up having to take a Su.dafed a couple of times to manage to breathe enough to sleep. I hated taking it, hated the feeling of it, but it was necessary. I also remembered what a great cold remedy kimchi is, so my wife found me the most delicious jar of it locally. I was in spicy fermented cabbage heaven. In fact, I was on a spicy foods rampage last week. I ate jalapenos like they were pickles, sprinkled Ta.patio sauce on nearly everything but my granola, and scarfed up as much wasabi as I could on some veggie sushi. I was determined to clear my sinuses, but it really did take the OTC pharmaceuticals to do the job. I’m still stuffy and probably will be for the next six months, but at least I can breathe.
  • Spring has truly sprung here. We went for a walk and saw so many wildflowers today. It was like chocolate for the eyes.
  • My sister and her smiley little baby are coming to visit again on Sunday. We get to babysit all day Monday. I can’t wait to have some baby time, some sister time, something besides work.
  • My wife informed me today that my hair is making me look like Brumhilda. I apparently need a haircut, but I guess I don’t see the point since I work from home. My hair is naturally way too plentiful (believe me; there is such a thing as too much hair) and grows faster than a chia pet (also not as great as it seems, especially with short hair), so pregnancy has really given me something special in the way of hairstyles. And by special, I mean I’m starting to look like an exotic sheepdog.
This is me (pre-haircut).

This is me (pre-haircut).

7 Comments

Filed under Ramblings

7 responses to “so. very. sleepy.

  1. Thanks for your supportive comment on my blog. Lots of love.

  2. poppycat

    Yay for spicey food, massages, breathing, naps & smiling babies.

    The concept of too much hair is so foreign too me. I didn’t know there was such a thing. Sounds like u lovely curse to those of us on the opposite side.

  3. Imagining that picture atop someone’s head has me laughing out loud!

  4. Lyn

    I am so with you on the too much hair thing.

    Enjoy spring! Hopefully it leads to fewer colds (and doesn’t come with a corresponding increase in allergies…)

  5. I believe that pup, even with the bountiful locks, is a gold metal winner, and so are you. 😉

  6. I’m in the too-much-hair camp too. And in pregnancy you don’t shed your hair (like you do normally) so I found regular haircuts to be necessary when pregnant. So go for it, and I always feel spoiled when I get a haircut.

  7. I just got my hair cut and it feels great – go for it!

Leave a Reply

