this is one way to start the week

It seems that I am the lucky recipient of a cold, and I’m pissed. I really hope it’s just a small one and that I’ll be back to myself in no time, but that is rarely how I roll. It just seems cruel to give someone a perpetual stuffy nose and then to throw a cold on top of that. But I’m not bitter. No. No way.

We had an incredibly productive weekend. We have started the great purge of 2009. We went through boxes of teaching materials and reduced them to tiny stacks of papers to keep. We reorganized holiday decorations and personal files, pulled out fabric we’ll never use, thinned out our linens, and so much more. We have a nice big pile of things to donate, and while our office/guest room/nursery is still in utter mayhem, we’re beginning to see that we can–and will–make room for our baby. It’s a more than a small relief.

Of course, now my momentum that I built up this weekend is utterly shot and all I want to do is lie on the sofa, drink juice, read a book, and moan. In fact, I think that’s precisely what I’ll do. No organizing for me today.

There is one thing that I must do, however, and that is to welcome Vee and Jay’s son to the world. Congratulations, Moms!

4 Comments

Filed under celebrations, sick

4 responses to “this is one way to start the week

  1. I hope you feel better!

  2. I hope you feel better. Doesn’t feel great to clean out?? I think I am addicted to it.

  3. poppycat

    Booo Boo cold, go away!

    Congrats on making some purging progress.

  4. Indeed, there is nothing like a purge. I am famous for quitting one in mid stream, dammit.

Leave a Reply

