home sweet home

Well, the letter is in the mail. My grandmother should receive it in a day or so if she checks her mail, and I am looking forward to hearing back from her. J left me alone in the house for an hour or so on Sunday morning so that I could write it, and I enjoyed it. It went quickly, even with all the requisite small talk.

I have a number of different posts brewing, but some of them require too much work for my level of motivation today, so a ramble it is.

I think J and I have decided to stay in our current living situation. We have the opportunity to lock in our same rent price for another year, and while it’s not ideal, it’s okay. It’s better than trying to come up with first/last/deposit when I’m working part-time, and J is job hunting. There are several plus sides: We have good air conditioning for the hot summer months when I’m going to be miserably toasty, and we have a pool, which will be lovely all summer long.

The downside is space. We live in a two-bedroom apartment. It’s a nice-sized two-bedroom, but we moved here after living in a three-bedroom house. While we pared down significantly, we still have a full second bedroom/home office, and that is going to have to change. We’re trying to get creative with space-saving. This will mean more purging and organizing, both of which are things I don’t mind at all. The problem lies in the things we want to keep. We are, unfortunately, very into our hobbies. We love camping and hiking, so we have a fair amount of camping gear. We make candles, so we have the supplies for that. I crochet, so there are those supplies. J paints. And then my paretns gave us a set of golf clubs for Christmas. And on and on. We have a closet filled with hobby supplies and nowhere else to put them. We considered a mini storage at one point, but here, we might as well rent another apartment for what they wanted to charge for a 4’x4′ space. Seriously. Ultimately, this just means we have to get more creative, get rid of the guest futon, and be more discerning in what we keep. I’m honestly looking forward to it.

Fortunately, when our lease is up, Egghead will be about six months old. That is about the time we’ll probably want to start transitioning him/her out of our room anyway, making it a good time to move into a larger space. It’s not ideal. Moving is never really ideal, but it’s about the best scenario we can dream up at the moment (aside from winning the H.GTV dreamhome, which happens to be in our town this year–that would be the best scenario).

So in the next few weeks, I think we’ll begin working on that second bedroom. We will need a space for baby things, even if Egghead sleeps solely in a co-sleeper in our room, and, frankly, it seems weird not to have any sort of nursery. I imagine with a couple of trips to I.kea, we’ll make it all work.

9 Comments

Filed under Egghead, home

9 responses to “home sweet home

  1. R

    i JUST Still can’t believe how fast time goes… wow.

  2. poppycat

    Well, I can tell you now that you aren’t going to win the dream home because I am, but I will have plenty of room for you, J and the baby. LOL.

    Lack of space is always the dilema isn’t it? Sounds like you and I are similar though in our love of purging and with some creativity you will be just fine. I think you have a great plan and when you look back at your cramped situation in 25 years, it will probably make you all warm and fuzzy inside.

    • reproducinggenius

      Poppycat, we will be happy to have you as a guest in the dreamhome when we win. The guest room is yours any time you want it. 😉

  3. Best of luck with the letter!

    Funny you mention Ikea–that’s where we’re heading to spiffy up the nursery too. I hope you find some creative solutions.

  4. Lyn

    We were in a 400 square foot one BR until Leigh was 11 months. It was very tight there at the end, and by that point she’d kicked us out of our room and we were sleeping in the living room, but made our move up to a 650 square foot 2 BR feel palatial. We also did extensive purging prior to her arrival, and it was very satisfying. We’re doing another serious round now to find room for baby number 2.

    Oh, and if it helps cut back on the hobby gear at all, you probably won’t have much time for the hobbies after the arrival anyway…but maybe now is not the time to tell you that.

    • reproducinggenius

      I appreciate the suggestion, but I don’t think we’ll be cutting back on our candle-making supplies, art supplies, or camping gear. These are pretty big parts of our identities–parts of our identities we plan to share with out kids. We make candles for our family and friends for Winter Solstice every year; sure we won’t have as much time for this next year, but we still plan to do it. This is a skill we have both worked on for over ten years, and we’re proud of what we create. And we certainly aren’t willing to go back to borrowing tents and sleeping bags from friends when we tend to go camping four or five times each summer (and yes, we will camp with a baby). I don’t see a need for us to erase all of these interesting parts of our identities when they can easily be a part of our new family’s identity. We simply have to work around the stuff, and I can handle that.

  5. I would like to think that we would win the dream home. Every time I see it I long to live there. It is so so pretty in your neck of the woods. Ikea will help you for sure. We have found the best way to deal with our stuff is to utilize under the beds in our house. I have been loving purging recently and organizing – pregnancy hormones are perfect movitators. I hope you hear from your grandmother soon. xoxo L

  6. Lyn

    I certainly didn’t mean to imply that you should drop the stuff you care about. We highly prioritize biking and living without a car (it is probably is similar in importance to camping for you). Despite everyone telling us we were completely crazy and would never pull it off, we’ve done just fine, with exactly your same logic (it’s important to us, so we’ll involve the kid).

    That said, the list of projects I love and hoped to do with kids has gotten much more selective since Leigh’s birth. But you can’t know how things will shift for you guys until you get there.

  7. reproducinggenius

    You’re right: we can’t know how things will change when we have a child until said child is present in our lives. I can say that we won’t likely be spending time wine tasting or playing poker anymore, and we won’t likely be going on extravagant spa vacations, all of which are things we have previously enjoyed as major parts of our lives. However, art and creativity will always be a part of our lives, as will our spirituality (of which the candle-making is a part). I suppose that is why I am so adamant about keeping some of these things.

    I didn’t mean to come off as defensive, but I think that happens when parents-to-be are trying to work out their new family identities and are subjected to endless advice from people who are already parents. I’m sure you experienced this yourself before you were a parent! 🙂 The great thing about this parenting thing is that it’s different for everyone. Every set of parents is different; every child is different; and ultimately, ever family is different, so generalizations don’t typically apply.

Leave a Reply

