and…exhale

We’re back from our appointment, and while it was a whirlwind, we’re both glowing. The nurse went over my blood test results. She remarked on how positively NOT anemic I am, which is great. Apparently everything looks really good. I’m delighted.

Then, the doctor came in, and she said, “Hey, let’s go over to the ultrasound room!” J, looking out for our delicate finances, asked about the charges for it, and she replied, “Oh, don’t worry. I won’t tell! This is more fun anyway!” And off we went.

We got into the room, and I hopped up on the table, at which time the doctor yanked the front of my pants down, slathered on some u/s goo and got started. And there was our baby with a beating heart and little hands and feet and a big giant head. Yes, this is our little Egghead at 11 weeks:

11weeks1jpg

Egghead, 11 weeks

Moments later, the doctor turned on the sound, and I began seeing the little heartbeat monitor on the screen, and then suddenly we heard this loud, fast unmistakable heartbeat of our little one. This was the first time I have cried in that room. Our doctor told me repeatedly, “You’re doing such a good job, Mama.” It was such a huge relief.

And then we went back to the exam room where I expressed my concerns about my declining symptoms. Dr. K assured me that I do not need to worry about feeling good, that everything is going beautifully and that she’ll see me in a month. It was a quick in and out visit, really, but it was the most meaningful one so far.

That little gummy-bear looking thing up there is our baby. I can’t believe it really is our turn. Today it’s beginning to seem real.

18 Comments

Filed under Egghead, the P word

18 responses to “and…exhale

  1. Hooray. I’m so happy for you.

  2. Jodi

    I love our little egghead. I can’t believe the fingers and lack of tail. You’re doing so good, baby.

  3. Oh the little egghead/gummy bear is adorable! I’m so glad everything went so well. Yay!

  4. This is the best early ultrasound I’ve ever seen, mine included. Just adorable!

  5. I still cry thinking about hearing Trucker’s heartbeat for the first time.

    I think the egg head looks a little like you. 🙂

  6. poppycat

    That post should come with a tissue needed warning. What a lovely little egghead you have! Amazing.

  7. jay

    that’s fantastic!! I’m going to have to stop reading your blog because you keep making me cry, now.

  8. vee

    Aww I’m smiling SO HARD right now. Your little gummi bear is so cute!

  9. your egghead is beautiful. hearing the heartbeat is really my favorite thing ever. i would take it over an ultrasound any day. congratulations you are doing a great job mama!

  10. A.

    What a cute pic!! And good job, mama!

  11. nutella

    Oh hurray!! I kept checking at the end of my work day yesterday but missed your update anyway! I’m so thrilled for you!

  12. Joy

    Yay for reassuring doctors appointments! I love the gummy bear analogy! Keep up the good work of growing your baby.

  13. Amazing! Congratulations! It’s your turn, enjoy!

  14. Aww, what an adorable little gummy bear! Congrats on doing such a great job, I’m so glad things are going well.

  15. tbean

    Reading “I can’t believe it really is our turn” made me cry. Both for you and for me. I’m so happy for you and it gives me hope that I’ll be there one day too.

Leave a Reply

