the incredible shrinking symptoms

The worst of my symptoms are starting to taper off. This freaked me out yesterday. I’m supposed to be appalled at the odor of dinner cooking. I’m supposed to be near tears every time I take off my bra. That hasn’t been happening since we have come back from our trip. Honestly, it’s a little scary.

But there is this rational side of me who knows that tomorrow I am eleven weeks and that this is around the time that symptoms do start to taper off. I don’t have any negative signs at all, no cramping, no spotting–nothing like that. And I’m still plenty tired. I can take a nap within an hour or two of waking up in the morning. I still have to wake up at least once in the night to pee, but not five times. See? It’s a little nerve-racking.

Most of me knows that everything is likely just fine and that I should not be complaining about feeling well, but I can’t help but allow some of the anxiety to creep in.

Tomorrow is our next OB appointment. Hopefully that will bring us some peace. We don’t plan to have another scan just yet (our insurance isn’t paying for them, and we can’t afford $150 every time we go to the doctor), but if we have to, if the doctor suspects a problem, I suppose we will. Honestly, it would be really nice to have an uneventful check-up where everything is completely normal. That’s what I want.

Ugh. I’m so ready to feel confident about all of this.

On another more humorous note, I tend to feel my uterus when I lie in bed at night and when I shower in the morning. When I am standing, it feels higher, and it’s really amazing. Occasionally, I make J feel it too, so yesterday, as I was realizing it was quite a bit higher than before (yes, I know this should reassure me). She did, and then she sort of jerked her hand back and wrinkled her nose.

I asked her what was wrong and she told me that while she thought it was really cool, it was still an organ. She doesn’t know how she feels about touching organs. She has no problem resting her hand on my belly, and she does it with great regularity, especially when we’re cuddling at night, but I think the uterus is going to have to take on its rounder, more familiar form before she is very comfortable feeling it directly. And I can guarantee that once she starts feeling some movement in there, she’ll not be able to keep her hands off of the organ.

Have I mentioned lately that I love my wife? I do.

8 Comments

Filed under anxiety, symptoms, the P word

8 responses to “the incredible shrinking symptoms

  1. that’s cute haha an organ. I did the same with my hubs.. I kept making him feel how hard it was.. and how high it had gotten… he wasn’t much into it though… not until it looked like a real baby belly. its funny.. he rubbed my belly so much while preggers.. it took him about 3 months to stop doing it after our daughter was born.. he just couldn’t get himself out of the habit… I had to yell at him.. “stop rubbing my fat!!”

  2. nutella

    Haha, I’ve never thought of it as an organ in terms of pregnancy, btu I suppose it is. Has never grossed me out at all.

    I know the disappearing symptoms must be nerver wracking, but you really have no reason to believe that there is anything wrong. Just keep telling yourself that. I know it’s hard. As sick and miserable as I was we still didn’t feel completely at ease until 20 weeks.

    You’ll get to hear the heartbeat at the OB right? That always makes things feel a little calmer.

  3. A.

    The organ thing made me laugh. In no time at all, she’ll be able to feel some movement!

    I’m sure you’ll feel better after your appointment tomorrow!

  4. cindyhoo2

    I am glad that you are trying to be so relaxed about your symptoms. My sister and I always called her second trimester the “happy time” because she was evil in trimester 1 and 3 but was a barrel of laughs for the second trimester. Enjoy your lack of symptoms because it sounds as though you still have plenty to be reassuring.

  5. tbean

    Can give you no personal experience…but definitely recall reading bloggers who describe a dramatic drop-off in symptoms around week 11/12/13/14. And it has never been a problem. Hope you can get a listen tomorrow, or at the least, shell out for a scan and some peace of mind.

  6. Rachel

    nawww, an organ!

    psst if you have $100 to burn then a fetal doppler is crazy!infertile!lesbo crack. there’s nothing like knowing your baby’s not dead.

  7. poppycat

    Haha, J is too funny. Less symptoms, more healthy pregnancy, sounds like a great idea.

  8. I’m sure the tapering of symptoms is nerve wracking but it also sounds totally normal. I hope your checkup is uneventful.

Leave a Reply

