the unsuperbowl

First, a little business: I have made private the drama post. I appreciate all your comments so much, but it was getting just a little too much traffic, and I’d like the train-wreck traffic to end. I don’t want this blog to be about that. I’m leaving the original drama-inspiring post up because it’s still relevant and because in light of this article, it’s especially relevant, but I’ve closed comments.

Okay, now onto the fun stuff.

J and I aren’t football fans. I’ll watch it a little if I’m around my brother, but mostly I find it boring. Much of that probably stems from a lack of understanding of a game where grown men run into each other on purpose, but then I play games where I hit balls with sticks, so who I am to judge? When we break games down, they are quite silly, and perhaps that’s why I just don’t like to watch sporting events, especially televised sporting events.

All of that said, we don’t watch the Superbowl. There have been many Superbowl Sundays when we were happily oblivious to its existence. Just last year, for instance, we were moving into our new place on Superbowl Sunday. During the past few years, though, we have discovered the Puppy Bowl. If you have never seen this delightful display of canine cuteness, tune into the Animal Planet during the Superbowl. You will find adorable puppies playing, eating, napping, and just generally doing what puppies do. Not to be missed, also, is the kitten half-time–typically a sort of disco event. The kittens don’t get on as well as the puppies do, but they have a grand time with the strobe lights, confetti, and other kitty toys.

This year, while I am certain that we will tune into the Puppy Bowl, we also plan to watch movies galore. I had hoped to find a good TV show marathon, but I’m not a fan of I Love Lucy nor The Closer.  I don’t yet know what we’ll watch–probably some romantic comedies or girl power flicks (too bad we just finished a full season of the L Word, or we might watch more of that). Anyway, our plan is to indulge in tasty snacks; I’m going to watch J enjoy some beer (sparkling water for me), and we’re going to make a day of it with our very own Unsuperbowl.

8 Comments

Filed under entertainment

8 responses to “the unsuperbowl

  1. A.

    My friends, whose 18 month old doesn’t watch TV, actually Tivo’d the Puppy Bowl so she’ll sit still when she’s getting her hair cut! She’s absolutely transfixed. We love it too, though I’m pretty well behaved getting my hair cut on my own. 🙂

    Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

  2. We’re unsuperbowling today too. It’s a great day to go to a movie because the theatres aren’t crowded. So, we went to see The Reader – the last on our list of major Oscar contenders to see.

    Love the article, btw. Thanks for the link.

  3. tbean

    Love the Puppy Bowl. Look forward to it every year!

  4. poppycat

    I LOVE puppy bowl too and I am bored to tears by football. If it were women I would probably be all over it. Yesterday we went to a SB party at a good friends. I ate too much, drank too many beers and fell asleep on her sofa after the first quarter. I tried to stay awake but just couldn’t manage. Staying at home would have been a much better idea – I could have done laundry all day and I would be short the 2000 calories of beer and junk food too.

  5. we unsuperbowled too!!! just catching up on recent posts ….

    that is CRAZY about your dreams……you’re a lucky girl! i seriously didn’t know that could really happen!

    xo

  6. Your unsuperbowl sounds so good. We did something very similar. Also I did not comment on the drama post. But I am happy to hear you are leaving it behind. You should not have drama in your space and I can only imagine how upseting that would be. I am happy it is in the past.

  7. Also, I had some of those dreams when I was in my early pregnancy too, wild right?

  8. Crazy reading this and remembering my last Superbowl with my grandpa. He raised me since I was 2 months old. As a WWII Veteran, he demanded quiet and discipline. However, when Football was on, it was all out the window. I learned to love Football and still, to this day, have a hard time missing a game. I am loud, very involved, and often coaching from the sidelines (known as my couch). Because of my Grandpa’s birthday (February 4) and his passion for Football, SuperBowl became his birthday party. Grandpa passed in December of 2009. So, this was my last SuperBowl with him. Miss that man. [I am very much aware that Football is technically not capitalize, except, I watch it religiously…] xoxo

Leave a Reply

