a new day

I’m tempted to proclaim this reader appreciation day at Reproducing Genius. You all are lovely, and I appreciate you propping me up after last night’s immaturity-induced drama. I’m ready to wash my hands of it all and move on. Honestly, I haven’t encountered anything like that since I was in my twenties, so it was shocking to see here in a place where people are generally kind and respectful, even if they do disagree. So I’m really, super duper grateful for you ladies. I thank you for sharing your similar experiences. I am starting to understand where all of that came from, and I’m just glad that I’m not at that place in my life. But that–in all its vagueness–is all I’m going to say about that. We’re back to the drama-free zone.

Now for an awkward transition, some preggo talk, and something juicy and unexpected:

It’s amazing how sleep changes during pregnancy–even early on. I get up to pee at least twice in the night, but sometimes more like five times. I can no longer sleep on my stomach at all unless I want to sleep in pain. When I roll from one side to another (which I have discovered I do FAR too frequently) I have to hold onto my boobs instead of letting them fall as they will because otherwise the pain is too unbearable. I’m sure it’s quite a sight. Some nights I remember to wear a tight tank top or sports bra to bed, but other nights, I’m just too annoyed with being constricted, and this results in the painful turnovers. It’s something I certainly didn’t expect–at all–and it makes sleeping a little more difficult. The books say this prepares women for the baby’s sleep patterns. I say that I can wait to prepare until a couple of months before the baby is born. I don’t need to prepare now. I’m a procrastinator at heart, and I would like the option of procrastinating with this too. Now, I need and want sleep like never before in my life.

But there is something far more interesting happening as I sleep now, something that would make me the envy of every girl in the neighborhood if only they knew.

I think we have all heard of odd pregnancy dreams. They are apparently incredibly real and vivid and sometimes even disturbing. I haven’t had the super-vivid dreams yet, unless we count a certain, um, sensual variety. Since I’ve been pregnant, I have had exactly four dreams that resulted in orgasms. In the past, I might have had one of those per year, but now they seem to be a nearly weekly occurrence. Most often, these are related in some way to my wife and I engaged in marital bliss,  or myself taking care of things, but once it had something to do with none other than C.NN’s Anders.on Co.oper. Why him? Don’t ask. I don’t particularly like the guy. I don’t find him particularly attractive. I don’t have a thing for well-dressed gay men. I don’t know what it was.  Overall, it’s a fascinating phenomenon, and I really can’t complain. I mean, who would, right? They’re orgasms, and orgasms are good.

I did worry initially. During the earlier weeks, orgasms were giving me cramps, and then once I was spotting for a few days, this really freaked me out. Having orgasms in my sleep seemed like a sneaky thing for my mind and body to do behind my worrying back, and so I was a little afraid of them. I would wake up in a bit of a panic.  Now I’m not fearful, and I can’t say I mind at all. It’s far better than the other night-time phenomena. I just wonder if they will last. Only time will tell, I suppose!

11 Comments

Filed under blog drama, sleep, the P word

11 responses to “a new day

  1. I had two or three dreams where I woke up having an orgasm in the first trimester. CRAZY!

  2. Well damn! lol. Sounds like a symptom for the “pro” column.

    And uh…did you see this? http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090131/ap_on_re_us/octuplets

    • reproducinggenius

      Wow. Wow. Wow. Her situation seems worse than any of us ever assumed. I can’t believe her doctors went through with this. And she says she was paid to do this? How is that possible?

      Thanks for sharing this! I’m a little bit horrified.

  3. Just chiming in to comment on that truly lovely hormonal side effect. During my short six weeks, I experienced that twice. I’m sure it was the oxytocin, but I woke up feeling like it was an indicator that everything would be fine… just absolutely fine. (It doesn’t even matter that I was incorrect on that point, I fully expect to have the same belief next time… when it truly is fine.) I’m glad that our bodies have this automatic calming mechanism.

    Oh my, I’ve written quite a lot on the topic. How very O.r Bodies, O.rselves!

  4. Ah yes… and as to your troll, who shall go unnamed for pingback reasons… I’m sure you’ve gathered that her angry words likely have very little to do with you.

    Going to admit an ugly thing. Almost three years ago, I left a mean anonymous comment. The blogger asked for her mean commenter to fess up off-blog and I did. I had to admit to her (and myself) that I was ticked because she and her partner were going to switch uteri after a relatively short ttc process for her partner. The blogger had experienced easy fertility the first time, and they were making a decision based–at least somewhat–on efficiency/expediency. Given that I was headed toward a similar situation (more challenging stuff for me, previous easy fertility for my partner, who has since offered many gems like “If we had tried with me again, this sh.t would be done already”), it hit a nerve. Long way of saying that it was my problem, not hers.

    In that situation, I learned that we aren’t just words on a page. We are real people dealing with a particularly difficult, gut-wrenching and sometimes hidden-from-the-IRL-world stage in our lives. I really really wish that your troll had remembered that before she struck out.

    Anyhoo, just want to add my voice to the “You’re a good person, you have every right to write what’s on your mind” crowd.

  5. That sounds like a pretty good pregnancy side effect! I’m just catching up on the last few days so I missed the whole drama. But I wanted to say that I’m also behind you 100% – you have the right to express your views and I think people shouldn’t just insult you and leave – opinions aside, that behavior shuts down debate and it’s petty.

  6. I have had that my entire pregnancy. And, I cant say, that I havent loved it, until the last three weeks. I would say I was having that dream experience about once every week or so, but starting three weeks ago, I had to wake myself up if I was able. The O’s were KILLING my back and my oversized belly, lol. Hopefully yours will remain happy. I would also like to say that I agree with Olive. Everyone deserves to express their views.

  7. The good news is, the boobs will stop hurting. It only lasts for like a month. Bras while sleeping definitely help.

    As for the orgasm dreams, it’s only going to get worse or better (however you consider it). You are very horny in your second trimester. Your vagina is changing shape, and it feels really good. Sometimes I would be sitting in my car alone and would feel as if I was in the process of having sex. Sadly, this also only lasts a month or so. But enjoy it while you can. And I don’t care what you say, Anderson Cooper is hot!

  8. Jodi

    This should work in my favor somehow, shouldn’t it Hon? Just wake me up next time. I promise to be promptly alert.

  9. poppycat

    HA HA on J’s comment! Thats cute.

    I am now very sorry that I didn’t keep up with you this weekend. Sounds like I missed some drama. I don’t know what happened exactly but I am sorry it upset you and know that I got your back girl. Post whatever you like on YOUR blog and she/he can kiss it.

    Yay for the special O! Who couldn’t use more of that in their life? Too funny that it involved A Cooper.

Leave a Reply

