first appointment

We just returned from our appointment with the OB. She was young-ish, warm, informal, smart, and she treated us like smart, informed women. J and I were able to ask questions, and she was able to calm some of my fears. She told us over and over that some spotting is very normal, that it was likely related to implantation.

And then we got to have an ultrasound! At this point, all we could see was the gestational sac and yolk sac, but she said both look great. She’s having us come back next week so that we can try to see our wee one. J and I swear, though, that we saw a little flutter in there. I would post the photo, but I am too lazy to scan it in right now. It’s really just a black blob (gestational sac) with a minuscule white blob (yolk sac), so you’re not missing much.

The crap part was having a pap–they always make me bleed, and she warned me that she angered my cervix quite a bit but not to worry for the coming day. I would rather not see any blood coming from my nether regions at the moment, but I’ll deal.

The best thing we heard her say is that everything looks good, that there is no sign of impending miscarriage. She thinks everything is going to be just fine. That’s just what we needed to hear, and I’m calmer already.

Next appointment is next Thursday when we’ll do all of the blood work and have another ultrasound.

14 Comments

Filed under OB, the P word

14 responses to “first appointment

  1. Soo glad your visit went well and isnt your first ultrasound exciting!!!!

    heck it never gets old actually, they are all exciting
    xoxoox

  2. glad your minds are at ease…
    xoxo,
    gypsy

  3. liberationtheory

    sigh of relief!

  4. jay

    Brilliant! Phew. xxxx

  5. giggleblue

    i’m happy that she was so reassuring and that all is looking well!!

    we still have our black blob ultrasound picture on the fridge! haha!

  6. h.babypants

    I am glad everything looks good! Hopefully next week the heartbeat will be visible, which is so wonderful to see. Congrats on a great appointment.

  7. nutella

    Awesome! So glad you like the OB and that everything checks out beautifully. Oh, and I had never bled from a pap until the one at my first pregnancy OB appt. and I bled more than spotting for about an hour. Baby is just fine, so no worries.

  8. vee

    Great news! (Though I could think of better times to do a smear test!)

  9. sounds like a great OB! & hurrah for things being right on track.
    xo

  10. So glad that you are breathing a sigh of relief! I think Thursday is a lucky day…it’s our due date and we have been having lots and lots of positive energy about that date for almost 10 months now. Since most babies don’t actually arrive on their due date, I hope that you get some of that positive energy for your u/s. 🙂

  11. Amy

    So glad that your doc made you guys feel relaxed and gave you some reassurances. The next ultrasound should be a great one. Hearing and seeing the heartbeat is amazing!

  12. yay for the first appointment! the pap is no fun indeed, but glad that it went well despite that!! can’t wait for the upcoming appointments for you…when you’ll actually get printed photos!! so much fun. xo

  13. I’m so glad the appointment went well and you like your doctor – hurray!

  14. I’m so glad they were able to get you in and that all looks well with the little one. Can’t wait to hear news from the next visit!

Leave a Reply

