pregnant. period.

Early this morning, I had a dream that I was taking this digital pregnancy test, and the “not” kept flashing on and off. Eventually, it leveled out and stayed off, and I left the bathroom to tell J. At that point I awoke, and I was so utterly bummed. This seems to happen nearly every test morning. I have a dream that it’s positive, and I awake to test negative.

So, I trudged to the bathroom, cracked open the test, and went about my business. I set the test on my leg, waiting for an answer, and suddenly, it was there. Just one word:

img_2232

I bounded out of the bathroom, and started turning on lights, saying, “Oh my god! Oh my god!” J shot up from bed and said, “What’s wrong? What’s going on?” She was utterly confused. Until I showed her the test (after fumbling with more lights). I collapsed on the bed with her crying and laughing. Needless to say, we have not goneย back to sleep. We’re so excited, and yet I’m also nervous as hell that the next test I take will have that dreaded word “not” in it. I took the test apart, though, and the test line was nice and dark.

img_2231

I’ll take another test this evening since I need to use the other one up anyway, and I’ll make some sort of doctor’s appointment today, and, and, and…

The list of symptoms for those interested:

  • sore boobs, but a more through-and-through soreness than usual
  • hints of nausea
  • weepinesss
  • irritability
  • crampiness

I also had some weird sort of hot flash the other day in the grocery store, after which I was shaky and weak. That would have been 10dpo, and I would say it was my first sign.

Holy shit. I’m pregnant.

54 Comments

Filed under symptoms, testing, ttc

54 responses to “pregnant. period.

  1. this is the first blog i have read this morning, and wow! what a way to finish the year. you’re pregnant! PREG.NANT!

    i am so so so so excited for you guys! i’m waving at your tiny little bean.

    xo

  2. N

    ๐Ÿ˜€ Congratulations.

  3. fomg!!!!

    do you want loud cheers or quiet cheers? because i have both of them right here waiting…

    guess that speculum did the trick! good shootin’, J.

  4. Lyn

    Oh congratulations! There’s nothing like the excitement of seeing that word for real (and the ensuing terror that comes 5 minutes later). Here’s hoping you both feel more excitement than terror!

  5. A

    WOW! Congratulations! I’m so happy for you. You’ve been trying a long time and I’m so happy that you have your BFP! I hope you have a healthy 9 months.

  6. J

    WELL HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU!
    HOORAY!
    This is such wonderful news.
    Stick little guy, stick!

  7. shut UP!!!! holy shit!!!
    So so so excited for you guys! The P word!! You are it!

  8. This is so so so good. What a good way to start a new year… That pregnant word is so very good. I am so excited for you both!!!!

  9. notesfrom2moms

    If there was a rooftop nearby I would totally be on it and screaming! You are getting ripped off the hope list right now!! Hot damn this is great news.

  10. MT

    Congradulations!! I’m so happy for both of you! What a way to start the new year.

  11. tbean

    HOLY FUCKING SHIT!!!
    That was my first thought when I read this news.

    Yay! Finally! It has been so so long. ๐Ÿ™‚
    xo

  12. Congratulations! Happy New Year! What a way to ring it in! I am so happy for you both. Yay!!!!!!!!!

  13. Fantastic news! So happy for you two! Congratulations and Happy Happy New Year!

  14. Hooray! Letting out the loudest shouts of joy for you. What a great way to start the new year!

  15. YES!!!!!!!!!! So fucking happy for you!!! Happy new year indeed ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Joy

    Whoohoo!
    Congratulations!
    Happy New Year!

  17. cindyhoo2

    Fantastic! 2009 is looking up! Congrats to you both. We will be needing pictures of hpt #2 as well since we will all be basking in your reflected glory. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. I’m delurking to say Congrats!!!!

  19. CONGRATULATIONS!! What a great way to start the New Year.

  20. starrhillgirl

    WOO AND HOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It’s about damn time, I say.
    Yay, yay and YAY!!!!!!!!

  21. Yaaaaay!!!!!! Big congratulations to you both!!

    I hope you have a nice and sticky bean in there. What a way to start the new year!!

  22. G

    De-lurking to say CONGRATULATIONS!

  23. Congratulations! That’s wonderful!!!

  24. Erin

    HOLY SHIT!!!!!! Fantastic!!!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  25. Divine

    HOLY SHIT is right! Congratulations! I’m SOOOOO happy for you both ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. liberationtheory

    i am all teary-eyed when i read this because i think you two deserve it so much!! my wife called me from work to tell me the news (yes we are stans like that) and i was screaming in the car like i know you two in real life.

    needless to say i am so ecstatic for you!!

  27. mutti1

    Pregnant it is. What a beautiful way to close out the (difficult) year and welcome in the new. What a relief as well……a much deserved relief.

  28. giggleblue

    i’m totally happy for you both!!! this is completely awesome and so incredible and a totally fantastic way to end the year. 2009 is officially bringing wonderful things your way already!!! congrats!!

  29. wow congrats, that’s amazing!!!!

  30. Kaitlyn

    Congrats! | am excited to be on the journey with you! Good start the 2009!!

  31. Yay! 2009 is certainly looking good for you guys. I’m so very happy for you.

  32. i cannot get past the images of you running into J and turning on the lights and falling into bed crying and all… just cant.

    i am so excited for you and hope it is a good omen for all our dreams coming true in 2009…

    much love,
    gypsy

  33. we were sitting in bed and then saw your photo and screamed OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in unison and then both burst into tears.

    we’re SO FUCKING HAPPY FOR YOU BOTH!! YESSSS!

    Happy new year!!!!! xxxx

  34. Clemency

    OMG! I was JUST about to go to bed, it’s very late, thinking, gosh I haven’t heard from Timaree in a while, hope she’s OK, better check her blog, and….OMG

    Super fantastic, girls! That’s so, so fine. Can you believe we started trying in the same month? It’s been such a long road, I so hope this is it for you.

    xxxx

  35. Congratulations!! Awesome!!!

  36. and what a shame (NOT NOT NOT) that you couldnt drink any champagne for new years eve…LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

    so so happy for you girls…
    much love,
    gypsy

  37. You are the FIRST person I wanted to check in with and HOLY CRAP! I am so glad I did!!! Words CAN.NOT express how happy I am for you, and how overjoyed I am to read these words this morning. There isn’t a more deserving girl out there than you! All my love to you guys, and hoping that this little one sticks for a happy and healthy 9 (well, really 10!) months. What a journey this will be…..and what a NEW year…..I look forward to following it all. SO much love lady and so many congrats.
    xoxoxox

  38. Happy fucking new year! This is INCREDIBLE!!!! I’m thrilled for you guys! Tons of sticky vibes!

  39. I can’t believe I didn’t check bloglines yesterday!!!
    Holy Crap!!!! I’m so thrilled….all teary and chills. I’m so, so happy for you guys! Enjoy these moments, they go by fast.
    All the stickest of vibes to you! I’m so, so happy for you.

  40. Delurking hehe.

    This is amazing and congrats!

  41. Oh my god, holy shit, and wooohooooooooo!!! This is the best news and truley brought tears to my eyes. See, it really does work! Congrats you two. I am thrilled for you. You have both been so brave and persistant and you deserve it so much. xoxoxo

    So funny that you took the test apart.

  42. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

  43. This is amazing, wonderful, excellent news. Happy, happy new year!

  44. Tui

    That is awesome news – congratulations!!! So pleased to hear it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  45. Woohoo! Congratulations! Happy new year indeed!

  46. docgrumbles

    Jumping over from Vee and jay –

    CONGRATS!!!

  47. Emily

    so happy for you…

  48. HOLY SHIT! This is so wonderful – what a way to end the year!

  49. How wonderful, best new year’s day ever!
    Congrats!

  50. LKC

    Grats ladies! I am so happy for you!

  51. Wow, that’s awesome! Congratulations.

  52. word to your mother(s)

    Wow, that’s fabulous news! A fantastic way to start off the new year, no doubt!!! Congratulations.

  53. Nothing new to pipe in, just congrats. Lots of congrats. Welcome 2009.

Leave a Reply

