incredulous

It must have been 85 degrees out today. It’s the middle of November and over 80. That is unacceptable to me. I shouldn’t be hot. J should certainly not be digging her shorts out of the high reaches of the closet, and I should not be turning on the air conditioner or taking a cool shower.

I am also pissed off to have aquired yet another cold this semester. I’ve had it with students coming to school and sneezing and coughing all over everything, including the papers they are placing in my hands. I wash my hands religiously, but with the petri dishes we’ve had going in our classrooms, there is simply no escaping the sick.

Being sick throws a wrench into all kinds of plans like staying awake while grading stack after stack of germ-infested papers, breathing through my nose while attempting to sleep, or generally being a pleasant human being (I’m not a good sick person).

I think it’s time for a hot toddy or two.

There is one thing that I am, in fact, not incredulous about at all. Our new and improved sperm is arriving tomorrow. It is on a FedEx truck headed in our direction. We’re looking at mid-week next week. Honestly, I’ve hardly thought about it…

2 Comments

Filed under heat, sick

2 responses to “incredulous

  1. I’m sorry about all your germy students. But yay for the sperm on a truck!

  2. It’s about 30-something here right now! I think we should meet in themiddle somehow

Leave a Reply

