Lazy Post

I don’t have much energy to write tonight, but I’m not letting NaBloPoMo get the best of me. Thus, a bullet post is called for:

  • Shopping today was fun. We found some good gifts, and I resisted buying about 500 different pairs of shoes that I fell in love with. We even managed to come away from it all without spending too much money. The best was seeing my mom, of course. It’s nice to be close enough to spend a day with her.
  • We have the strangest car problems. Right now, J’s car’s hood latch is broken. This means that the hood is always slightly ajar, and when driving on crazy busy California freeways, it’s freaky watching the hood bounce up and down. Our neighbor’s husband will be fixing it Friday. In the meantime, we are driving slowly and enduring the middle fingers and raised fists shaking in our rearview mirror.
  • We learned through some ugly apartment complex gossip that our managers received many complaints about our No on 8 signs leading up to the election and that they wanted to confront us about it to make us take them down. They never did. Sometimes, J and I have realized, being out in our everyday lives does have a bit of power, and people like that won’t speak up for fear of being sued. That’s fine with me.
  • My mom gave me pictures of my niece in the Halloween outfit we got for her. I don’t have them on the computer, so you’ll have to take my word for it that a baby in a pumpkin hat (complete with a stem) is one the lovelier things to see in life.
9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Lazy Post

  1. jay

    Ahh!

    I am glad they didn’t make you take the sign down. GOOD on you. Not the same thing, but I had an anti-war sign up for years when I lived in a city centre. It said MAKE TEA NOT WAR and made (most) people laugh. Signs are good!

    And I just wanted to let you know that we had the exact same car bonnet problem as you a few months ago. It freaked me out, but vee managed to fix it. I will ask her to comment and explain how… think it was something to do with a spring, or lack of. And the good news was that there were TWO springs. So, we still had one…

  2. vee

    Yeah, like jay said, that bonnet thing happened to us too. I was SOOOOO proud that I managed to fix it! It was nothing more than a rusted spring that had got jammed. A bit of oil and some poking around down the little hole with a screwdriver to free it and pow! we were back in business! Give it a go – impress your neighbour’s husband!

  3. reproducinggenius

    Congratulations, Vee! I love it when I figure out how to fix something on my car.

    I so wish that this were the problem with our hood/bonnet, but alas, it’s something bigger. A few months ago, after getting a tune-up and some belts changed at the mechanic, the car just died one day. We later learned that a wire had been pinched and had shorted out everything, including the cable for opening the hood. (We ended up having to get a new computer for the car at that point.) Because the cable was toast, and the latch was rusty, the latch just broke (that little spring is gone). At first, we could still use a screwdriver to close it, but now the latch is completely useless. Grrr…

  4. tbean

    Go you and your no on 8 signs–I hope you made people uncomfortable and shamed with their bigotry and small-mindedness.

  5. I loves that you guys put signs up…rock on!!!!!!

    Ps. That guy IS a total asshat.

    PPs, I must now use the word “asshat” at least twice today. It’s my new fav.

    xo

  6. Oh, if we had somewhere to put a sign, we sure would! I’m glad you are getting the word out and being visible. Keep it up!

  7. Its disgusting that people complained about your signs, but I’m glad the management didn’t try to make you take them down. They probably knew it was the wrong thing to do.

  8. reproducinggenius

    Honestly, I think they didn’t ask us to take them down because they were afraid of confronting us (this is what the gossip would suggest as well). This isn’t the first time they have been intimidated by us–somehow all those college degrees, the ability to use standard English grammar, and the fact that we’re gay make us scary. I can’t say I mind. They’re sleazy, sleazy people.

  9. Erin

    kudos! keep those chins up! we’re all in this together.

Leave a Reply

