insult, meet injury

So much for that trifecta. Not only does it still appear that 8 is passing, but I’m also decidedly not pregnant.

I started spotting yesterday, tested this morning, and my period has definitely arrived. Nice.

As for Prop 8, it still hasn’t been called. The No on Prop 8 website states that the race is still too close to call, that the “Yes” side is about 400,000 votes ahead. They state that there are also between three and four million absentee and provisional ballots that have yet to be counted. They have no idea what the demographics of those voters might be. I don’t know. The realist in me tells me to brace for the worst. I don’t know what will happen to our marriage. I just don’t know.

I’m saddened, too, by the hate-filled initiatives that were passed in other states: Both Florida and Arizona passed amendments to define marriage as between a man and a woman, and Arkansas has banned adoption and foster parenting by anyone but married people (they obviously don’t allow same-sex marriage).

Our nation made great strides last night toward racial equality, but we still have so very far to go.

16 Comments

Filed under marriage, negatives, Politics

16 responses to “insult, meet injury

  1. So sorry for the crap. Personal and political.

  2. So sorry that this cycle ended in a negative.

    As to your marriage being in limbo, I can’t even find the words.

    So so sorry.

  3. That sucks. I am really sorry about both of these things. As you know, we got married in CA this summer and now we are also wondering what does this mean…?
    Hang in there.

  4. jay

    I’m really sorry too. It’s all amazingly sucktastic 😦 xx

  5. kathryn

    hey! i’m an absentee voter amongst other absentee voters…i voted, as did many others here. don’t give up! i’m still keeping my fingers crossed that my absentee ballot did some good…as the vote for obama was totally unnecessary.

    hang in there, my dears. good things are ahead, i can feel it.

  6. (i sent you this message in an email as a reply to your comment on my blog, but it bounced…)

    i thought of you two specifically when i heard the verdict on 8. my heart is grieving
    with you, and my hope is that the pendulum will continue to swing toward justice,
    that our righteous anger will be vindicated…and soon.

  7. and also, i am so sad for your bfn. your time is coming soon, i know it.

    x

  8. tbean

    I’ve been thinking of you both all the time this week. Having been legally married in MA and living there during the many many legal challenges to that (thankfully, it never went on the ballot, despite those fuckers best efforts), I know a tiny portion of what you are going through. But, truly, I cannot imagine how awful and personal and upsetting it must have been to live through the prop 8 campaign and now to have this reality. I’m a wreck about it, so I cannot imagine how much more awful it is for you. I guess if you had to get a bfn, at least you can do the shitty all at once? Cold comfort, I know.
    hugs and love

  9. Like Oh Chicken (Hi Texas!), we’re also responding to a blog response 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. We’re so excited to find another blog from the bay area. We’re so sorry to hear that you’re not pregnant first off. Hang in there. It took us 2 1/2yrs, so we know how frustrating the road can be.

    You were right about the already existing marriages standing. Since I’m home with this pregnancy, I’ve been watching a lot of tv and reading a lot of the legal issues having to do with this issue. Especially the last two days. It’s such an odd situation, because I feel like the political figure heads of California are going to fight really hard for us. Yet, half of the people who live in this state didnt.

    I’m hopeful, but cautious about the remainder of the ballots. I wonder about the honesty of the count, as I’m sure many do. The state’s attorney has made it clear, that you cannot change the state’s constitution by a popular vote alone. It has to be a legislative act as well. He has also said that, thankfully, the Yes on 8 campaign, did not write anything into their initiative about it being retroactive. And, he says that for the most part, these kinds of things are NOT retroactive.

    So, for now, and I think for some time to come, our marriages, will stand. Hang in there with your family and we’ll put you on our blog roll. I guarantee we’ll be reading daily 🙂 Take care

  10. suburban dyke

    I am so sorry about your marriage. It sucks that we are second class. I am posting the following on every GLTB blog I can find:

    Let’s fight back on Proposition 8. Let’s boycott California wines, produce and travel. Let’s publicize it. Let’s embarrass them. It worked a few years ago in Colorado. What do say?

  11. You two have been on my mind with this whole Prop 8 deal…. I am SO so sorry….both for what is going on with 8, and for the arrival of AF. I know it will happen soon lady…don’t give up. I’m praying that change happens once and for all for our whole nation and every same-sex couple, and that it won’t ever be overturned. The news about CA, arkansas, fl and others is just making me sick. My thoughts are with you guys during this time….I know it can’t be easy. Lots of love to you both. xo

  12. poppycat

    I am so sorry about your BFN. Don’t worry, your BFP is coming.
    As for prop 8, I find myself in a daily struggle to not be as hate filled towards the haters as they are toward us.

  13. I know I’m a little late…..I’ve been so behind on blogs this week., and I’m sorry. I have been thinking of you.

    I’m so, so sorry for your BFN. Yuck, yuck, yuck. And another yuck for Prop 8 passing.

  14. I’m so sorry this try didn’t work. So, so sorry about prop 8 too.

Leave a Reply

