scene from our living room

J came over to me today as I was sitting in my chair, sat on the ottoman in front of me, made me put down the computer, and then she looked into my eyes. “It’s time,” she said earnestly.

“Time for what?” I asked. I had no idea what she was talking about. I had been in another world–a world of student emails and political blogs and ugly headlines.

“Time to start planning for our baby again. I want you to start temping. We need to get our paperwork settled with the sperm bank. We need to pick out a donor.”

My eyes welled up with tears as she continued to look intently at me, and she said, “Only one more wasted egg, baby. Just a little bit longer, and we can make our family.”

I took a deep breath and inhaled hope, possibility, and relief.

Yes, it’s time.

13 Comments

Filed under ttc

13 responses to “scene from our living room

  1. That scene makes me cry tears of joy for you.

  2. Hooray, hooray, hooray! That is so sweet how J. put it. Hooray!

  3. J is a sweetheart. I’m excited for the two of you. I can’t wait till I can spread hope for you in the universe again.

  4. twoladiesinwaiting

    OH! Yeah!

  5. i’m excited!!!! that time passed sooo quickly. i’m excited to hear about the adventures of donor choosing and the like!

  6. chills on arms over here!! girls, it’s gonna happen SOOOON!!! Woo hoo! I’m so excited for you guys. xoxo

  7. tbean

    To quote Dawn Denbo, “It’s on!”

    I so know the joy of a break being OVER!

    Don’t know how I missed this post–bloglines is effing with me!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

