Ramblings from Rev. T

J and I finally get to go camping this weekend. Our dear friends who recently came to visit us have agreed to meet up with us for a weekend camping trip in celebration of J’s upcoming birthday. We’re thrilled to have this opportunity to get out into the forest, stare at the river, and do nothing. To top it off, we get to go to our redwoods.

I know I’ve said this before, but the redwoods are what we have missed most since our move. There is something so enchanting about them, so mystical, so home. Now we get to sleep under them, hike amongst them, and generally enjoy being in their presence for a whole weekend. It will be lovely.

On another note entirely, another of our dearest friends called last night to ask if J would do a special reading at her wedding next year. J then put me on the phone, saying, “You’ll like this.” My friend then asked if I would officiate their wedding. Few people know that I’m an ordained minister, but I am. I’ve never done anything with it, but minister credentials are a good thing to have in one’s back pocket–just in case, you know. One never knows when one might need to perform an emergency wedding or baptize a child, or get out of military service, right?

Anyway, our dear friend has given me some time to think about this, but I will very likely say yes. The wonderful thing about this is that the man she is marrying is someone J and I knew she would marry before they were ever together. She was coming out of a ten-year relationship and so was he around the same time. They were drawn to each other, got each other through the pain of their break-ups, and eventually became a couple. They’re perfect together. I have known her since I was an undergrad and him since I was a grad student. We have all been colleagues and friends for years, so it’s a great honor to be asked to marry them. After writing all of this, I’m wondering how I could ever say no! Their wedding is next July. If our late-October insemination takes, I could be very, very pregnant by then. The thought of this tickled her. If it does happen in October, I’ll suggest they find a backup person of the cloth.

In yet more news, my brother is asking his girlfriend to marry him today. We love his girlfriend and can’t wait for her to join the family. They will be getting married in February. I hope I’m pregnant by that wedding too.

And finally, in another piece of unrelated rambling, I visited my new school yesterday and my new department office. I met the department secretary (arguably the most important person in every academic department) as well as the department chair. Both were lovely and sweet and welcoming. Imagine my surprise when they said, “You know, we’ve seen you before!” I looked at them inquisitively, and they continued: “You were on the front page of the paper!” (If you’ve been reading along, you’ll know that J and I were on the front page of the major newspaper here when we were married last month.) I imagine my face went scarlet as the secretary said, “Yes, we’ve got it right here! We were all so excited when we say you’re name. I said to everyone in the department, ‘She’s one of ours!'” When she couldn’t find the paper, she remembered that she had placed it in my file. If you were wondering, this is the photo that appeared in the paper:

My colleagues typically find out that I’m gay gradually (not that it’s any sort of an issue in California colleges). There is nothing gradual about this, and based on their enthusiasm, that’s fine by me!

7 Comments

Filed under camping, family, friends, fun, good news, Ramblings

7 responses to “Ramblings from Rev. T

  1. i love that they got excited by seeing your picture… so very very cute.

  2. I think that is great that they cut out your picture from the paper. I think that if you did officiate at your friends wedding that would be a wonderful gift to them. I hope you guys have a good camping trip and that you soak in the redwoods.

  3. I love their response! Sounds like a great place for you

  4. tbean

    So great about the new work environ! My wedding was in the paper and so when people google me it is often the first thing they come across–even 5 years later!
    Sounds awesome that you may officiate at the wedding–what an incredible wedding gift for your friends.

    (PS I agree on the dept sect. thing–I have had both an amazing one and one who was the least competent person I have ever known. Makes a HUGE difference!!)

  5. jay

    ah that’s all so brilliant. hope you have a fab time camping. i’ll have you know that after reading this i made vee agree that we will go camping at the end of august (i say “made” but really she agreed immediately!) because i cannot go through a whole year without. so thank you for the influence!! enjoy xx

  6. reproducinggenius

    I’m glad to have been a positive influence, Jay!

  7. That’s an awesome way to start a job! You should totally officiate that wedding. What an honor.

Leave a Reply

