over–of the hung variety

J and I received the settlement for her car debacle. As you may recall, her car’s computer was fried as a result of our previous mechanic’s shoddy work (major wires were pinched, shorts occurred, the car died). It was a big surprise, but the previous mechanic’s insurance company paid up quite quickly.

And so it came that we saw this as an opportunity to celebrate. We’ve not had extra money for going to bars, and we’ve been cleaning out our bodies of toxins, so we thought it might be fun to treat ourselves and go to our favorite local pub for some drinks. Unfortunately, it turns out I enjoy pear vodka a little too much (add some club soda, and it’s the most refreshing summer drink). Today, I am not enjoying the vodka or its effects. Today, I feel like utter shite. I thought vodka was supposed to be less likely to create a hangover, although it may have been the wine we had as a nightcap once we got home that threw me over the edge. All I know is that as we ate dinner, I could no longer keep myself upright. I needed to sleep, and so I did. And now I’m paying the piper, as J’s mom used to say.

While I can deal with a hangover–I’ve had plenty–it’s not so easy to deal with a hangover when one must do things. Today is not the day to have one. My mom, my sister, and my niece are coming for a visit. We are supposed to be going to farmer’s market tonight. I am supposed to be finishing up the cleaning of the house. I am supposed to feel alive and energetic. Instead, I feel like I’m sitting in mud. Ugh.

Anyone have any sure-fire hangover cures? I’ve got the water under control, but what else works for you?

In other news, I popped my first prenatal vitamin in months this morning. I purchased some good ones at our little market yesterday. We’re almost exactly three months out from the beginning of Operation Baby 2008.

2 Comments

Filed under car, celebrations, drinking, family, The Long Break

2 responses to “over–of the hung variety

  1. Ick – I hope you feel better! I hate trying to be productive when I feel crappy.

  2. i’ve heard the alka seltzer tablet help, but i’ve never tried it myself – usually i’m the one watching everyone else with the hang over. did i mention i have a two drink maximum. yeah, zero tolerance – too cute. i drink like a 5th grader.

Leave a Reply

